We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant in Asheville!”

Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Asheville!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travel to Asheville every year, and we NEVER miss a chance to at here! Very relaxed atmosphere, and fun staff, with AMAZING food never disapoints!

Helpful?
1 Thank rcain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    272
    51
    20
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Something beside grits”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was a good fusion of Mexican and Caribbean with spicy kicks to some dishes and interesting presentation taking the Caribbean influences with the pilon as the vessel for serving and a highly heated molcajete for another. We're a little critical perhaps as my husband's part Puerto Rican and I've grown up with Mexican influences. Though it was a nice meal, we don't feel compelled to return yet might recommend it. It's a popular place and no reservations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ckingw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simplify4y@ymail.com
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“50% Good”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I loved my Vegan Pom-Pm-Pom! I would certainly go back again for this delicious dish. However, my two college age daughters did not like their chicken enchiladas. What also made this dining experience negative was the apathetic attitudes of the staff. The Hostess barely smiled and the waiter was non apologetic when the chicken enchiladas arrived with mushrooms embedded in the cheese when there was no mention of mushrooms on the menu nor from our requests. Instead of saying "I am sorry and I will get this taken care of right away", I had to beg for him to acknowledge that this was a mistake on the restaurant and then he offered for a new mushroom-less entree. Seriously, the attitude here put a distasteful taste in my mouth and will not come back for awhile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinghounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Real Caribbean Mexican taste”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Love the Pan Fried Plantains as a great starter. The set menu is great. But the daily menu will test you taste bids to the limit. This will inspire you the rest of the day. The drinks are not bad either. Come get some of this lovin.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Every meal is an adventure!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Eating as Salsa's is always an adventure. Their flavors never cease to amaze me. Their ability to layer so many distinct flavors within the same dish is an art. Our party of 5 arrived yesterday at the end of the lunch period when the kitchen was closing to transfer to the dinner dishes but you never would have known that from either the food or the service. Both were exquisite. A visit to Asheville is not complete without a meal at Salsa's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaldri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing