We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”

Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit surprised about how small the place is and it was a little squeeze for 6 people. The server we had was very friendly and helpful. All of the food was amazing- especially the beef empanadas and their shredded pork special with pineapple. We all enjoyed our food and the unique twist on the dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lnr567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    272
    51
    20
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really Great Flavor”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is one of my favorites in asheville. The flavors are so great--its one of the best anywhere at the ability to re-invent traditional dishes and make them more exciting and flavorful. You'll find sweet potatoes and goat cheese in items here, a housemade blackening seasoning that is almost sweet (and totally delicious), and a very good bloody mary (although the margarita is good too). I get hungry just thinking about the food here. I've had something from just about every section of the menu and it is all fantastic. Service has always been very nice and attentive. If you consider yourself a "foodie" you will love this place--it offers unique flavor profiles, is visually appealing and interesting food and has a nice staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravel2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“South of the Border with a Twist”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Like Mexican food, but getting a bit tired of the same old taco? Do yourself a favor and stop by 6 Patton Avenue in Asheville, to titillate your taste buds with South American flavors you won't find anywhere else but Asheville (believe it or not!). Chef Hector Diaz, originally from Puerto Rico, opened his small restaurant as take out only some nineteen years ago now, and later purchased the adjoining space to create a unique dine-in environment. Local artists' work adorns the brightly colored walls, with booths and tables crowded into the still small dining space. There is a small outdoor bar opening to an urban type alley which also includes several tables for outdoor dining.The environment is quirky, always crowded, and typical Asheville--artsy with flair! The food is what you keep coming back for, however, as you can find Hector's unique creations nowhere else but at Salsas!

True to the namesake, the three salsa platter is a treat not to be missed. With such choices as Pineapple Habanero, Fire-Roasted Tomatillo & Chipotle Peanut, or Mango Mint, how could you pass up these heavenly creations. Fire up your appetite with the salsa for sure, but then a large assortment of flavorful and unique delights awaits you on the main menu. Our favorites on the lunch menu are "Burritos Favoritos" (why not? Hector already knows you'll love them!), which include, of course, "The Asheville", but also our number one choice, "The Cubano"--a heavenly mix of roasted pork, sweet plantains, and queso blanco. Or how about a chicken taco with fruit & cabbage slaw, fontina cheese and chipotle aioli? If you're really hungry and in the mood for a culinary adventure, go for the Pilon--a hearty Puerto Rican bowl filled with Hector's creations including an assortment of meats, chicken or fish, along with grilled veggies, onions, and a side plate of rice, beans and salsa. A word of warning--these portions are HUGE--consider splitting with your spouse or friend. The list of great menu items goes on and on--Quesadillas, Empanadas, Paquetes, and more, all with Hector's unique Caribbean twist. One other caveat--Hector makes the world's finest HOT SAUCE--if you dare, ask for a bottle and add a little to your meal--the choice will likely send you gasping for your drink, but as a native Texan--it's well worth it--you'll be literally "fired up" for the rest of the day! Better stick to the "sauce" for lunch, though, as you probably won't require that sort of boost all night ??? Plenty on the drink menu too to balance out your menu choices--but one disappointment, at least in our view. If you don't like sugar or alcohol, you're out of luck at Salsa's. The city-flavored water is lacking and some nice unsweet tea would be a welcome addition, for those us wanting a little healthier drink! Otherwise, you just can't go wrong at Salsas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AvecBrisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

After a family wedding we headed to Salsa's with 2 other couples for our last dinner before leaving town. what a good find this place was! the food came in a pumice type serving bowl sizzling hot, the presentation was good but the food was better. No one in our party was disappointed and the drinks we ordered were fantastic too. If you are looking for a different kind of Mexican/Caribbean Restaurant and you are in Asheville go and partake. You will be amazed at how good the food is. Oh! Our waiter was patient with us and we enjoyed him. It's not a big place so I assume it gets busy, you may have to wait, but it will be worth it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this restaurant!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to this restaurant on a Friday night. We had no wait for a table and had very prompt, courteous service during the entire meal. The food was exceptional and absolutely better than we had anticipated. Loved this restaurant and will definitely be dining there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAngelaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing