We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Asheville retaurant”

Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Abingdon VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“My favorite Asheville retaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant in town. I find myself shaking my head through out the whole every time. You know, the head shake where you can't believe how good the food in your mouth is? Or maybe I shake my head because I know the meal has to end and I never want it to. I love this place and you could too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank alovingspoonful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    271
    51
    20
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A treasure”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A small restaurant with a large taste. The food is delicious, and the staff is very helpful. They source locally as much as possible, and then do wonderful things with spices that titillate your taste buds.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dflom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We came for lunch around 11:30 and were seated quickly. The placed filled up very fast. The food was delicious. I had the burrito with pork (maybe called the Cubano?) and my husband had he chicken tacos. We loved it! Our server was friendly and offered great suggestions. We will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChompChomp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Unique and delicious flavors”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love this place. I always get the empanada with tofu. They have great guacamole and the jalapeno margarita is awesome. It is better to go for lunch because the prices are better. My only complaint is the dinner prices. Noone ever wants to split the empanada with me. It is huge! If I take it home it gets soggy. So, I can't justify spending a lot of money on something I can't finish or take home. Just go at lunch and you will be fine. It is wonderful. I love the cactus decor too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's been a while since I've been, but the experiences I had were consistently disappointing. Nearly each time we went, they were out of salsa. I understand that restaurants want to make things fresh and when they're out, they're out, but come on. Your restaurant is called Salsa's!!! Make enough of it! If you want to try one of Hector's restaurants, check out Chorizo in the Grove Arcade, especially for a delicious brunch!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing