We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Innovative Caribbean food with Mexican style”

Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Alfred, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Innovative Caribbean food with Mexican style”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is for people who seriously like great food. Using the classic ingredients of Caribbean Mexico with innovative additions from the islands, this place is worth a wait. The servers are well informed, helpful, and the selection of craft brews and tequilas is excellent. Don't go if you just want franchise type "TexMex." This place has serious flavors, inventive salsas, and fresh ingredients brilliantly prepared.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    270
    51
    20
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The food was really good and they had big portions. It was really fresh and different from other Mexican restaurants. We really enjoyed the burrito and also had nachos for an appetizer. They definitely had a Carribean taste to them and were very flavorful and delicious. The margaritas were alright and not the best. The service was amazing! The waiter was very helpful and even made suggestions for things to do in the afternoon in Asheville. Highly recommend for lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxxie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hideous Attitudes!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

HORRIBLE experience! We were told it would be a 15 minute wait and no less that 45 minutes later we were still standing and waiting for a table. Much, much worse than that was the staff's appallingly NASTY attitudes towards us! They all but told us to leave. Their faces, body language and temperament SCREAMED that they did NOT WANT us in their restaurant. They did NOT WANT our business. We never ate there. We finally gave up and left starving and went to another restaurant that welcomed us to dine there. It was an awfully terrible experience with a restaurant...I have never had such an encounter as this in my life. DON'T EAT THERE! Go somewhere else that actually wants your business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must try, worth the wait!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

While this little restaurant may not look worth your while (or the wait) trust me, it is! Salsa Mexican only sets about 30 people so arrive early and get your name on the list. The hostess will come find your at the neighboring bar so you can get a drink while your wait. My husband tried the special, which was goat and said it was fantastic. I had steak fajitas that we really very good as well. The chef has talent with seasoning the food to perfection, the vegetables were especially good.

The food arrived at our table only 10 minutes after ordering it, with that small of a restaurant the staff is very adept at turning the tables quickly, which means your wait time is shorter!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 625EmilyT625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I don't think you can get any worse”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I sat by the door where every time it opened I almost froze to death The menu stated my dish included a fried egg. It's the first time I've ever seen one that did not include a yoke. The meat was portrayed to be steak. I imagine shoe leather would be more tender. The plate included so many different ingredients most were Indiscernible When ordering the waiter asked me if I would like chili sauce and cheese sauce on my plate Sure why not I responded. Little did I know I would be charged for both of these solicited choices. My guest and I were never asked how our meal was. He was too busy playing tricks with his plate. I feel ripped off that I chose to spend Margarita day here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiawahkat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Salsa Mexican Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing