We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal in Asheville”

The Market Place Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Market Place Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Battery Park
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Asheville, The Market Place Restaurant specializes in handcrafted cuisine from seasonal, local ingredients, many of which come from within a 100 mile radius of Asheville. Bringing you the local harvest since 1979. Serving Dinner from 5:30pm, 7 days a week in our newly renovated restaurant. Brunch from 10:30am - 2:30pm on Saturdays & Sundays. Our classic American lounge serves local brews and handmade cocktails and is open until.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Asheville”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Four of us ate here in October for a long weekend trip to Asheville and everything was exquisite. Our waiter (whose name escapes me at the moment) was very attentive and anticipated our needs. The bread was a little slow to arrive but when it did it was excellent. Our appetizers, wine and entrees were excellent and we had a great time. Even though we were one of the last tables to leave we never felt rushed at all which is nice. I had the pappardelle and it was amazing. The charcuterie plate was great too. My friends all enjoyed their entrees as well but I think mine was the biggest hit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staceyd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    180
    60
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food -- beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wonderful experience here. Great space, excellent service, quiet and romantic. Had beautiful tender gnocchi. Incredible dessert. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“NOT Really Farm to Table and Poor Service, Too”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We knew this restaurant by reputation, and were looking forward to trying it, because we value local food. We were quickly disappointed when we sat down (after being clumsily greeted and seated, even though we had a reservation) and were presented with a verbal list of daily specials that included local ribs with grilled asparagus. That would be alright if it had been spring, but this was mid September, and the only place that asparagus is "fresh and local" at that time of year is the Southern Hemisphere. The pairing of local meat with a vegetable from a most distant locale shows a lack of commitment to and belief in local food. Worse, it tricks ignorant diners into misunderstanding the basic concept of the seasonality of food. Genuine "farm to table" restaurants would never do this. There was also a dessert that featured blueberries--again, something NOT in season here. As our out of town guest (who was treating us to dinner at this place on our recommendation) said, "wouldn't you expect them to have a dessert with apples or some other Fall fruit?"

Also, I have to mention the service. Our waiter, apparently, had never done this work before. He had no knowledge of the wine list--had to go ask the bartender about a wine we were interested in--and he could barely get the bottle open. He had no class or skills as a waiter, and the rest of the staff spent much of their time standing around chatting in a small group.
Don't expect to get your water refilled very often here. Also, they serve each diner one small piece of grilled bread, after making a great show of squirting tasteless olive oil on a plate when you are seated. The folks here should be required to go to a good restaurant in Italy, to see what real service and real food are all about. A fine restaurant must train its staff!

As to the food: our dishes were okay, but had too many flavors layered on so that the overall effect was muddy. The food also produced almost instant indigestion for all. This is not a fine dining experience that is worth repetition.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Downtown Asheville Dining”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Street parking was very tight, so we ended up in a parking garage near the restaurant. We arrived a little before the dinner hour, so we had a drink in the bar. I drink dark beer so the bartender gave me a taste of Catawba Cleopatra, which I thought was very tasty so I ordered it. He also let my friend taste their Bloody Mary mix, which she liked. Our waitress was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable regarding the menu. We ordered the Wild Mushroom appetizer for $12; highly recommended by the waitress. It was very good. As my entree, I ordered the pan roasted wild sockeye salmon, farro, roasted fennel, with butternut squash for $24. It was excellent. For dessert we shared the orange spiced chocolate pot de creme, candied kumquats, cocoa nib marshmallow for $8. Overall, this was a very good dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best place ive eaten since I moved to Asheville”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Sooo gooid. Farm to table...everything is from farms within 100 miles (except seafood of course). Server was very knowledgeable. Great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrrigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Place Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Market Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing