We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun”
Review of The Bull & Beggar

The Bull & Beggar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bull & Beggar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 780 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: River Arts District European Inspired Appalachian Cuisine. Raw Bar. Handmade Cocktail. Old World Wine
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a large group. the staff were wonderful to work with so many people. The recommendations by our waitress were great. Menu is a bit confusing - many items were specialties but when we "googled" them we discovered they were simple things like cheese, herb used in salad, etc.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    60
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

From the start of the meal to the finish, this restaurant was AMAZING! The octopus was tender and succulent, the filet mignon was perfectly cooked, and the pot de creme was a delicately delicious finish. If you have not tried this place yet, you are missing out. It is truly one of the bet spots in Asheville!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RCS1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top-notch addition to the River Arts District”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I have eaten in this restaurant multiple times since its recent opening. Each time has been a delight. The seafood has been impeccably fresh and imaginatively prepared, and the cassoulet (offered in cooler weather, I think) was better than the cassoulet we had in Castelnaudary, France, home of the dish! Sunday brunch is a pleasure, too; we especially like the "Fish Camp Breakfast," with trout, bacon, and those addictive home fries. The interior of the restaurant is comfortable and pleasant. We're looking forward to going back to this restaurant many times in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“One of the best in Asheville”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

So take the Trip Advisor ratings with a grain of salt. Texas Roadhouse is rated higher than this place somehow. We live in Asheville and have eaten at the vast majority of the restaurants--this one is one of the best. Down in the Wedge building at River Arts next to the hair salon is where you'll find it. The menu is somewhat limited--only 4-5 entree options. A few small plates and appetizer options, but each time we have eaten here it has been fantastic. Oysters have always been great. The drinks are very well done, and similar to the ones at the Admiral. I would say I probably prefer the menu at the Admiral slightly over this, but prefer the look/feel of the Bull & Beggar restaurant a little more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Celebrating birthday 23 with our son. Great service, unique menu.

Everything was great - most memorable dishes:

Mussels - wish we would have known about the Farm and Sparrow bread they brought out with the cheese plate, would've requested some to soak up the sauce.

Roasted Octopus was prepared perfectly.

Asparagus hops were outstanding.

Hushpuppies with maple butter had just the right amount of savory and were freshly turned out of the fryer.

Filet was good , cooked as ordered, and bone marrow was a nice surprise. Sauce could be good for some, not for others. I liked it.

Good selection of craft cocktails and bourbons. Several local and regional micro brews on tap.

We had the cheese plate for dessert - assortment was well rounded and paired thoughtfully.

The space was well appointed and not overly crowded. This restaurant is located in the same building as The Wedge. Parking lot is a bit dirty and chaotic if the outside tables are full at The Wedge.

Overall, very positive and pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank Drscalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull & Beggar also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Bull & Beggar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing