We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hush puppies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Local Taco - CLOSED

The Local Taco
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
567 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful hush puppies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We came here for lunch and I did not think I would be writing about a side dish but the hush puppies here were wonderful.

They were nice and crisp on the outside, not greasy, and inside they were hot and flavorful.

We of course had tacos -- the wife enjoyed the spicy shrimp and the portabello mushroom tacos. I had the BBQ pork and the brisket -- the tacos on the whole were good but I thought the meat in both were a little dry.

We tried the black beans and the pinto beans and they were ok, but the hush puppies are really something to look forward to again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kurokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“LOVE The Local Taco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We came to The Local Taco in a large group for dinner the night of my bachelorette party. Despite being a huge group for a relatively small restaurant, they made sure we had a fantastic time! Our waitress was AWESOME, had great personality, and we had a lot of fun with her while we were there.

I had the two taco plate and got one with beef and one with chicken, and both were delicous. I also tried the mexi-tots which were amazing! The queso was also good.

The standout here for all of us were the drinks as we got SEVERAL pitchers of white sangria which tasted like straight fruit juice but packed a real fun punch after a couple of glasses! I definitely plan on dragging the husband here next time we're back in Asheville!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlee1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive food in downtown Asheville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very good food and at a great price. We had a hard time spending $20 there for lunch. The tacos are delicious and plenty. We got the trio dips with queso, salsa and guacamole. Excellent but enough for 3 or 4 people to snack on. Two of us had a hard time finishing along with 2 tacos each. Good location and an outdoor eating area. They do an gluten free options noted on the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AVLME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
359 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best taco in Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Dropped in here because it was close to a place I was going later for live music. A lucky choice because the food was great. The fresh local ingredients certainly add to the taste of the inventive and tasty tacos. I especially liked the Korean beef and the pulled pork options. Good atmosphere and great service. Will certainly be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 7turns7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good and satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

After enjoying too much of Asheville's cuisine during the weekend, we wanted something smallish for dinner. This place hit the spot, selling single tacos as well as larger plates. Chips and queso were tasty (and plenty big enough to share). Margarita was a little tart for my taste but all in all this was a good choice for a fairly quick, inexpensive, and tasty bite.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank justcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Taco also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing