We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...”
Review of Mayfel's

Mayfel's
Ranked #49 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Serving traditional Louisiana and Southern cuisine in the heart of downtown Asheville for over 13 years. Offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner 5 days a week. Enjoy a made-from-scratch meal in our eclectic, lively dining room, our patio overlooking Pritchard Park, or our seasonal courtyard, one of Asheville's best kept secrets. We also offer beer, wine, and cocktails. And feel free to bring the pooch along!
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent varied menu, thoughtful service and well prepared food... We really enjoyed it and would return many times were we to live closer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlgaandTomGauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    274
    90
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got here accidentally, but didn’t regret. The food was very good. The three of us ordered sandwiches, but I think the one I had was the best one: Muffuletta, lots of cheese, Italian meats and enough olives and artichokes, and the sweet potato fries were great. They also have a good selection of local beers, which makes it better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verofdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and local beer.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place had great food and great bear that was from local breweries. The price of the food was very reasonable.. The staff was very friendly. They did not treat us like dumb tourists. They were very helpful about tellling us about things to do around town....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Mayfel's”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here under the porch on a rainy Sunday morning. Our table ordered the mountain to sea benedict and two breakfast specials, an omelette with dill, havarti, tomato snd spinach and a chicken/biscuit special with collards on the side.There wasn't a bite of food left when done! Everything was delicious. Waitress was great, food served in a timely fashion, only regret was due to the rain, we missed sitting in their lovely courtyard.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went to Mayfel's for a Sunday breakfast and was really surprised to only get a 5-10 minute wait! The food was really good, I had an amazing veggie breakfast scramble and split one of their biscuits and gravy which is definitely a must have if you're going for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayfel's also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mayfel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing