We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai Basil Noodles and Red Curry Chicken” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DOC Chey's Noodle House

DOC Chey's Noodle House
Ranked #58 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thai Basil Noodles and Red Curry Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a late night meal on a Sunday evening and Doc Chey's fit the bill and then some. We did not make reservations as there were only two in our party. There was a waiting line with a few larger parties but we were seated immediately. Scott, our wait person, arrived promptly and gave us his list of favorites. The servings are more than adequate so sharing is a good option. The prices are also very reasonable. We will definitely revisit Doc's on our next trip to Asheville.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobKats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    202
    48
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh noodles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Food was fresh and tasty. My husband thought he had eaten the best lo-mein noodles he has ever had. As in other reviews there was a wait but not too long. Try going in the afternoon or after 8:00 pm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank letusescape56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Asheville Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always on our Asheville eatery list. Did not disappoint, and the portions yielded lunch for the next day. The eggplant is about the best I have every had anywhere. Staff is outgoing and always has a suggestion for something special

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrwardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Top of the Wok!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been going to Doc Chey's for years and years. Never once have we had a bad meal. The food is always fresh, always consistent. I can also say I have never had bad service, and I see the same folks over and over - a testament that this business also knows how to treat their employees.

The vegetable springs rolls are the finest anywhere, and what do they put in that accompanying dim sum? Is it legal? My stars, it is addictive. I actually save what's left to pour over my main dish. (I threatened to stab a server in the arm once for taking it away.)

While everything I have tried there is worthy of praise, I usually get the Japanese Spinach Soba and add shrimp or salmon. As for the latter, that has always been top notch, too, and I am super picky about my salmon.

The Asheville location is also blending their own teas. You can get a nice variety of herbals, both decaf and leaded, and they always have a beautiful herbal iced tea brewed for your summer enjoyment.

There's one catch: GO EARLY! They are tiny in size, comparatively, and they get a waiting list in short order. (No pun intended.) They are also closed on WEDNESDAY and during the 2013 Bele Chere. If you do have to wait, however, they have a nice, long inside bench and turn over tables fast.

The atmosphere is most soothing, making the wait more like a stint of meditation or yoga. For a longer wait of 30 minutes or so, you could walk next door to the Double Decker Coffee shop (yes, it's an old British bus) and grab a quick cup o'joe. In Asheville, if you're bored, it's your own fault! So, go enjoy one of the finest restaurants Asheville has to offer! Doc Chey's is simply one of the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful Variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food was terrific. We were there for a late lunch and no problem with a line like others said. Seating is limited but the food make everything well worth it; eat in or take home. Varieties of all types of Asian inspired noodles are here; from as mild or spicy as you prefer. Good beer and soda choices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tounderpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DOC Chey's Noodle House also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to DOC Chey's Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing