We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always good and always the same”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asaka Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #514 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“always good and always the same”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I ate at Asaka this evening which I do frequently when going to Asheville for a shopping day . I had the vegetable entrée (approx. $5.25) which is huge helping of stir-fried vegetables (onions, mushrooms, squash, broccoli) with sides of fried rice and Japanese carrots with delicious shrimp sauce and an added huge salad for about $2.60. Entrée is delicious and salad is mostly iceburg lettuce with tomatoes, red cabbage, slivered carrots, and huge glass of tea. All this for $10.80! I had enough to bring home and make another meal for next day!
I have eaten at Asaka for years and enjoy it each and every time.
Service was awesome; I just wanted to tell the young waitress to slow down and not worry; she was awesome and very clean and pleasant in addition to being courteous, helpful, and quick with a very obvious desire to please.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwayshungry0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Asaka is a great place for some quick Japanese style food. The food has an excellent flavor. The service is very good. And the price is reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KudzuofCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tried it for the first time - will go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We picked up excellent soup and sushi to take back to our room. We were very impressed by the superb, friendly service, even though we weren't staying to eat there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank laurelhill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Always good and consistent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Took my mom here for dinner recently. I used to come here all the time years back when I lived in Asheville. It's nice to know that they still serve food just as good and consistent as they used to!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fast, cheap and delicious food! As always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I love this place. It cheap, fast and very tasty! I always get the shrimp entree, which is shrimp, broccoli, rice and carrots. The carrots are DELICIOUS!

And to the reviewer below, its HIBACHI. Not hamachi. And yes, its as good as hibachi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDR1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asaka Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Asaka Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing