We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home town atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FATZ

FATZ
Ranked #86 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ. ‎
illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home town atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our group of over 25 hit the cafe at once and they were on top of it. Friendly staff, great food and what a pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claraIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    107
    38
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

When you go to Fatz be sure to tell them this is your first time. You will get all kind of samples to try. I went there with friends and it seems everyone tried something different and it was all great, but their chicken is their most infamous dish and I believe the best! I had a salad topped with the chicken and a side of potato soup. They have the best potato soup ever! So if you are in the Asheville area, I highly recommend Fatz for a treat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnapierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
143 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wheres the food?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stopped for lunch about 1PM, seated quickly. Waited and waited, finally someone noticed and asked for drink order. Waited-----gave order. I asked for a BLT sandwich, not difficult? Finally received and was actually a bread and lettuce sandwich!!! Two slices of bacon and 1/2 slice of tomato on huge slices of bread and load with lettuce! Ate the two strips of bacon and left the sandwich. My husband had a bacon burger, came with 4, yes 4 strips of bacon. I asked our server (use term lightly) if all BLT were served with 2 slices, his response "corporate makes us do that". Last time at FATZ.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RessieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

While playing at a baseball tournament we received free kids meal coupons for Fatz so we took the whole team. The staff was so accomodating and helpful. Great food, great price, great experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
260 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“First and Last Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

While travelling on I-40 recently, we decided to try our first Fatz since we did not want to try the fast food restaurants clustered around the interchange. We should have stuck with the fast food places. As first time visitors we were offered free samples of their fried chicken. It was average at best. That should have been an indication. The best thing we tried were the dinner rolls. Food is only in the below average range. My steak and shrimp both had almost no taste. It may have been our first visit to this chain of restaurants, but it will also be our last.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are sorry to hear the taste and quality of our Calabash Chicken, steak and shrimp were below average. We agree that this is unacceptable, and it does not live up to the high standards we expect of our team. Please accept our apologies and thank you for your feedback as we can’t get better without it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing