We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky style with delicious results!”
Review of Early Girl Eatery

Early Girl Eatery
Ranked #46 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky style with delicious results!”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The bright, happy vibe in this breakfast/lunch eatery is infectious! The service was good and everyone enjoyed what they ordered. The only downside is that we were seated in a corner with a Mitsubishi ductless AC unit blowing air directly onto our table and within a couple of minutes after serving, our food was ice-cold. When we mentioned this to the server she totally understood and apologized that we had been seated at what she called the “Arctic Table.” Just make sure you choose a different table and you will have a perfect meal!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichNRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    532
    160
    49
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious breakfast for carnivores and herbivores, alike”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Ate here both mornings of our stay in Asheville and had lovely experiences both times. The Early Girl Bennie was top notch, creative and tasty. I had the Granola on Day 2 which matched the deliciousness of the prior day. Spouse had bacon and/or sausage accompanying his meal both days and was pleased by them. Nearly everything is locally sourced. Make sure to get some toast or a biscuit so you have an excuse to try their berry preserves, which are killer (in a good way). Wait staff is kind of friendly, but not overly so...maybe it's an Asheville thing to be somewhat aloof? Get there early (we were there at 7:45 and 8:15 am, respectively) as tables fill up quickly.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTraveler611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth The Wait”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stopped in for breakfast recently & had the Porky Breakfast Bowl which was awesome as long as you're in the mood for a big hearty breakfast. It has Home fries, BBQ pork, scrambled eggs and cheese smothered in a smoky bacon gravy. The smokiness of the gravy is what made it especially good. Not something to eat every day but great for indulgence. There were several other items on the menu that looked good as well. We did have to wait a while for a table but we knew to expect that in advance so it wasn't too bad.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank no1fromnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best brunch in town”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I'm a local. We go here every Sunday for brunch. The food is always great. The staff is friendly. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I visited this establishment two mornings in a row during Memorial Day weekend. I love to eat breakfast in a restaurant, so I went looking for a good place.
The first day, I had an omelet, which was good, but not fantastic - It actually had TOO much sausage and bacon in it, but once I took some out and ate it as a side, the omelet was better.
The second day I had the house multi-grain pancakes and they were both delicious and filling. Both mornings my mother had the house pancakes (strawberry and pecan one day, but I don't remember the 2nd) and she was quite happy, too.
Don't assume on first look that this is a small place, there is actually a decent sized dining room in the back.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Erk_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Early Girl Eatery also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Early Girl Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing