We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Dive Bar”

Mack Kells Pub & Grill
Ranked #297 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Scotts Valley
Level Contributor
132 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice Dive Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This pub is nothing fancy but seems to have a loyal following. I wandered in the middle of mid October drizzle. Everyone there seemed to know each other, but seemed friendly enough as was the engaging female bartender. I had already eaten so I passed on the food and ordered a $3 pints of Shiva IPA. It's from a local craft brewery and a low ABV(5.4%) for an IPA and had a lot of flavor. People seemed pretty happy with their food. It was a nice place to hole up for a while on a wet evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Talladega, Alabama, United States
1 review
“vida ann wilcocks celebration of life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our hats go off to you guys, the food was wonderful, the setup was great.
Thanks again, father of vida ann, david huff

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penhook, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went there 10/19/13 with some friends to hear a band and had the greatest time. This place is a private rest/club, so you will need a membership, or have someone to sign you in. I purchased the steak there and totally loved it. Other friends got different dishes and everyone liked what that they got. There is different entertainment at different times, so check to see what is there when you plan to visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Normally I wouldn't do this....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My fiance and I decided to try and catch a nitecap while in town visiting. Just so happens that we happen to be in the hotel on the hill "directly" behind 'Mack Kells'. Closest place so, we decide, this is the place to go...... That is until we walk in the front door. Upon walking in the front door, I show the "gentleman" behind the counter at the front door my CA id/license. He proceeds to make a comment about a weed smell, police, this is a private club, someone has to sign you in, cuts off the guy attempting to say he would but can't, then denies us entry...... Mind you, I'm from here!!! I just happen to live in Cali.... Good place? I'd say questionable at best. Editors note: If you call yourself a private club, signage never hurt.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamWilliams0248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
564 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Best Pub Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Get someone to sign you in and take advantage of the great food and drink here. We plan to go back often (considering a move to the area). The chef is amazing and we want to try everything. You can't find super food, great service, and fun atmosphere like this. Our compliments to the chef!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mack Kells Pub & Grill also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mack Kells Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing