We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub!”
Review of Tolliver's Crossing Irish Pub - CLOSED

Tolliver's Crossing Irish Pub
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ashevlile NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Tolliver's was a great find. Tucked behind a very heavy door, you'll find a great place to hang out with your friends, enjoy a beer, relax and get some good tradtional Pub Grub. Great for families during the day too. I recommend the fish and chips!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtntops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My favorite bar/pub, period!”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

As a true blue native of Asheville, this is my favorite watering hole I have ever been to. We try to go at least once a week to catch up with friends, watch sports, or just relax and have a nice local craft beer. They offer a great selection of draft beer, as well as bottles and cans. The food is great, they have the typical bar/pub menu, all of it is reasonably priced. It is a great place to be during Football season or any major sporting even season. They have about a dozen screens by my count, most of them very large, and high quality. So many people drive right by this excellent place to go to the worn out, crowded, annoying bar scene known as downtown Asheville. While they do plenty of business, it is rarely ever packed to the point that it is not fun. They also do an excellent themed holiday for St. Patrick's day (It's an Irish Pub).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Cunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An average dive bar”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

An Irish-themed bar in trendy West Asheville. Food is average at best. My fish and chips were overcooked and the bangers and mash on a previous visit were served lukewarm. And what's with an "Irish" bar that can't make a proper black and tan? They have some decent local beers but neighboring places have wider selections as well as better food. It's an average, working-person's bar, and probably a good place to hang and watch a game.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstoffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super fun place!”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We looked this place up on line and were extremely thrilled with the menu and hospitable service. We didn't get the name of our waitress, but she was so incredible personable and friendly. We felt extremely welcomed from the minute we walked in! The beer was cold, food was delicious, and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Thank you for making our second night in Asheville super fun! We will be back.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“won't be back”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

This isn't the place to go if you want to escape the cold outside. We asked the waitress why it was so cold inside and she said "the owner thinks it's smart to turn the heat OFF at night." So we said well you can tell him he just lost 3 customers who won't be back.

When it's 30 degrees or less outside, why would any idiot think it's smart to have the heat off in an old, cavernous building and people would want to sit there and eat while not being able to feel their toes. If I want "beef and guinness stew" that tastes like it came out of a can I can make it at home, be warm, and NOT pay $13.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piptart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolliver's Crossing Irish Pub also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing