We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!”

Village Wayside Bar & Grille
Ranked #38 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Grill, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The short walk in the rain was well worth it! The service was quick and the food was very good. I had the hot pastrami. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    209
    43
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Park, NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unpretentious atmosphere, varied menu in vintage train depot.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy, but reasonable prices for the upscale neighborhood of Biltmore Village. Service was excellent. Grilled cheese "all the way" with bacon, avocado and tomato was excellent, as was the artichoke dip with grilled pita. Only disappointment was the spanakopita in the Greek plate. It was barely warm, stale-tasting. But the salad and hummus were good. Bar is dark and unwelcoming. Dining areas are plain but bright.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Draftcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Didn't Finish My Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were waiting for the Trolley and thought we should grab a bite before the 3 hour tour. People were saying it was a good place to eat and how much can go wrong with a sandwich... It was terrible. I order the Gyro w. fries. They really could have changed the oil in the deep fryer. For me to leave fries on my plate is unheard of. My friends brisket sandwich was not really any better. The service was good, very nice girl. Place could be cleaner! Oh well, what do you want for an old RR Station.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Village Wayside is conveniently located in Biltmore Village, great for lunch while shopping or a drink afterward. Accommodating and friendly staff, food fresh and excellently prepared. Try the housemade potato chips!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

On a friend's recommendation, I had a chef's special: Burnt End Brisket Burger. It was absolutely the tastiest burger I have ever had. It incorporates the 'bark' of the beef brisket into the patty. Juicy, richly flavorful, cooked perfectly. The server was cheerful, knowledgeable, and seemed to appear out of nowhere just as we needed her. I like the comfy, relaxed layout and atmosphere at the Village Wayside. I've had a couple of other meals there, but I am compelled to expound about this chef's special burger. The down side: it's not always available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Wayside Bar & Grille also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Village Wayside Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing