We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Wayside Bar & Grille

Village Wayside Bar & Grille
Ranked #38 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Grill, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
175 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Waitress finally took order. Asked for the soup special, never got it. Asked for goat cheese on her burger, didn't get it, then brought it out cold. Fish sandwich not completely cooked, tartar was ok. Waitress didn't check order before it came out and then said she didn't know she wanted goat cheese on her burger.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FWL5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    203
    42
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum-O!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a REALLY great place to eat in the Historic Biltmore Village area. We walked around the area looking at the menus of the fancy froo-froo restaurants in this part of town and then decided to give Village Wayside a try. The have the BEST onion rings and the rest of the food that we tried was great too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danthebookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“quality of food not as good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Service was great, but the food quality is not what it used to be and the price on some items seem to go up. We love to support local businesses, but this time of the year seems to center around tourists. We have been going for several years, and our last visit will be our last.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rheanns t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Great little family owned & operated joint.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The employees are friendly but not intrusive. A relaxing place with very reasonable pricing. Get a Moscow Mule - cold & tasty.
It's located almost at the entry into the Biltmore Village as you exit the Estate. Plenty of shops, parking, and places to eat. But I would stop at this place - you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuvDCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for good food and good beer on a budget.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This was the first place we ate on our trip to Asheville. It is in a convenient location in biltmore village. Very friendly service, good beer selection, very laid back. Atmosphere seemed somewhat generic but the food was outstanding. Good mix of pub food and more eclectic dishes. Waiter was very knowledgeable about the local beers. Would definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattrbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Wayside Bar & Grille also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Village Wayside Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing