We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Outstanding, both food and service”

Jerusalem Garden Cafe
Ranked #22 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: College St
Description: Right in the heart of downtown Asheville across the street from Pritchard Park, and next to Asheville Discount Pharmacy. We offer lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch, and small tapas plates. We have traditional floor seating in our "tent room", outdoor seating, and a more typical dining room as well. We have daily and nightly specials, with live music and belly dancing on Friday and Saturday nights (reservations recommended.) Check our our menus on our website, and call for reservations!
Northeast, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding, both food and service”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place is so SO good. My husband and I were wandering around trying to decide where to have dinner when I happened to glance across the street and spot this place. We decided to give it a shot and we were both so glad we did! Extremely polite and fast service. We were given a choice of floor seating, table or couch, and the couch seating was super-comfy and offered a great view of the rest of the restaurant. Nice decor, musicians and belly dancer the night we were there as well. We started with an appetizer portion of kibbeh, which was served with harissa and tahini. Though the kibbeh itself wasn't all that impressive, I was VERY impressed that they didn't skimp on lamb or pine nuts at all and the whole plate only ran us $6. My husband ordered Black Angus Filet, which had a pomegranate fig sauce and was topped with butter poached lump crab, baby asparagus, and served with mashed potatoes. It was astoundingly good. He says it's one of the best things he's ever eaten- which I hope doesn't mean I'm overstating the amazingness of my own meal which I ALSO feel was one of the best thing's I'VE ever eaten! I had mango curry shrimp, which was made with colossal shrimp and served with couscous and grape leaves. I'm salivating even thinking about it. We can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDaysNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    175
    34
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very nice menu. Excellent, well-prepared food. Superior service from Morgan. The modest exterior might not catch your attention amid some of the more popular spots, but this place is worth a try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our next visit!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Mu husband and I met another couple for dinner here on a Thursday night. The dining room was busy but not full. One waiter seemed to be handling both the front and back dining rooms which made for slow service. Since we were in no hurry, that was okay. We arrived at 7:00 and finally left at 9:30. While we were there, and our party was not the last to leave, chairs were turned over atop tables as the staff began closing down for the night. A big no-no. That said, the food was very good and well-priced. We're all looking forward to our next visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AHappyTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DELISH Mediterranean food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

You cannot go wrong with Jerusalem Garden. My husband and I go here every time we are in or just driving through Asheville. If you like Mediterranean-style food, you will love it here. We have gotten the kafta meshwi (lamb kabobs) numerous times, moussaka, tabbouleh, dolma (grape leaves) greek salad, the sampler, baba ganoush and hummus, and everything has been delicious. Great atmosphere as well with floor seating. You feel like you have stepped out of the US when you step into Jerusalem Garden!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kclay55135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant and great service”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Jerusalem Garden Cafe was a pleasant find after some over priced, overhyped, and overcrowded restaurants in Asheville. I had the Morroccan couscous and my friend had the lamb. The Lebanese wine was a tasty bargain as well! I liked the courteous, professional service as well as the middle eastern decor.

As another review said, parking in downtown Asheville is diffiicult but we managed to find a spot nearby on a side street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerusalem Garden Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jerusalem Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing