We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Atmosphere, Amazing Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zambra

Zambra
Reserve with OpenTable
Zambra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Haywood Street
Description: Our dynamic menu is the passion of Executive Chef Adam. Adam has attained many influences through his training in Europe and New Orleans. Zambra is his modern vision of the tastes and flavors of the western Mediterranean: Spain, Portugal, Gypsy, and North Africa. As an appropriate accompaniment, we have assembled the region's finest selection of Spanish and New World wines. We have been awarded the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and our wine list has been voted the best in Asheville.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrific Atmosphere, Amazing Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is the best meal we had in Asheville. The service was outstanding and the menu was very eclectic in a good way. The prices were fair and the atmosphere inside at night was great. They went out of there way to accommodate us as we were toward the end of the evening. I would highly recommend Zambra.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    237
    61
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drinks were phenom!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Food is expensive and really nothing special for the price. If you are into fancy LOOKING food, its great... if you are looking to get full, you probably will need to buy 2-20$ plates :/ The best part of it was the bartender. She was fast and fun. She made us the best drinks! But for 2 people, 2 dinners, 5 drinks and a beer, it was 80 bucks... and we were still hungry when we left. I would suggest skipping out on the food if you are wanting something filling. (Salsas, the Caribbean place in Asheville was way better food wise and 20 bucks cheaper, and we had go boxes and the best margaritas in town, just FYI)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brimarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful first night dinner in Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

What a great way to start our anniversay weekend in Asheville! Very interesting layout/decor to the restaurant. Our server was new but very knowledgeable and she had backup. We shared five plates and two desserts, which was just right. Only 'disappointment' was the house cured olives---four or five varieties that tasted pretty much the same and came out warm, almost too warm. Everything else was great and the desserts were killer. Won't hesitate to go back the next time we are in Asheville.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AzCat225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for meat eaters, just Ok for vegetarians.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Zambra has an exciting daily changing (although usually very similar) menu! We have eaten here 5-6 times in the past few months we have lived here. My husband is always eager to try new cuts of meat and Zambra always delivers. He often orders cuts such as pork belly, beef heart, etc (you get the point). I, the mostly vegetarian but occasionally pescetarian, find myself ordering the same few things every time. Yes, there are vegetable specials, but that's what they are, vegetables (AKA side dishes to go with the meat). What I do order is always very good. Great place for a date, there is live music on the weekend and the overall ambiance is sexy. Note: just visited last week and food was not up to par with what we have been served in the past, hope it was just a fluke and not a turn for the worst!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WNCF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dinner for birthday celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently celebrated my husbands birthday at Zambra. The service, food, staff, ambience was absolutely wonderful! There is a ton of variety on the menu, definitely something for everyone. Don't be fooled by the online menu, that is just their house menu, then they have a huge list of daily tapa specials that you will see once you get there. Halfway into our dinner, an upbeat live band began to play, adding to the experience. We finished dinner with a free dessert from the restaurant after I told them it was my husband's birthday. It was a truly wonderful experience, we were still talking about it the next day. Do yourselves a favor, make a reservation and try this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JM820495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zambra also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Zambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing