We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas with some twists”
Review of Zambra

Zambra
Ranked #16 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Haywood Street
Description: Our dynamic menu is the passion of Executive Chef Adam. Adam has attained many influences through his training in Europe and New Orleans. Zambra is his modern vision of the tastes and flavors of the western Mediterranean: Spain, Portugal, Gypsy, and North Africa. As an appropriate accompaniment, we have assembled the region's finest selection of Spanish and New World wines. We have been awarded the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and our wine list has been voted the best in Asheville.
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tapas with some twists”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Creative tapas- some truly Spanish style & others with native cuisine. Great presentation & relaxed atmosphere. Although a little dark, the setting was funky beautiful with nooks & crannies for sitting areas. We had gnocchi special as well as fish sliders, and meatballs with a Morroccan twist. And a fantastic wine list. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    241
    62
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent beginning to "eating our way through Asheville"”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were tired when we finally got to our hotel at 7pm, but this was a short walk. Tapas are a fun way of trying different foods and we tried six of them--all good. Our only complaint is that the restaurant is very dark. They gave us flashlights so we could read the menu and we continued to use them to see what we were eating. It was all delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spacecoast1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top three favorite dish”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

It was so good. High energy environment, but we were set in the corner cove. It was perfect for our anniversary. 5/6 of our tapas were lick your plate good. I will recommend the beef tongue and baby octopus.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgdmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly creative tapas”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our first time here was great. The menu is creative with unique combinations that tasted spectacular. First if you love greens you will love these salads. They are huge and very sumptuous. We had the arugula and mixed greens salads to start and were amazed. We followed that with quail, grilled shrimp and potatoes bravos. All were excellent. There were so many great choices we were disappointed that we could not order more. We will return soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orcharddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Asheville!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Zambra is our favorite restaurant in town. It's wonderful to get small tapas plates to share, because there are so many good things on the menu I'd have a hard time picking just one! They have one menu that stays pretty much the same year round, in addition to their daily menu which is ever-changing. Everything is so unique and the flavors are just excellent. Great mixed drink menu. The ambiance is really nice as well, with low lighting and cozy bohemian decor. Check out the painted ceiling near the bar when you go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zambra also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Zambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing