We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music, drinks and tapas!”
Review of Zambra

Zambra
Reserve with OpenTable
Zambra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Haywood Street
Description: Our dynamic menu is the passion of Executive Chef Adam. Adam has attained many influences through his training in Europe and New Orleans. Zambra is his modern vision of the tastes and flavors of the western Mediterranean: Spain, Portugal, Gypsy, and North Africa. As an appropriate accompaniment, we have assembled the region's finest selection of Spanish and New World wines. We have been awarded the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and our wine list has been voted the best in Asheville.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great music, drinks and tapas!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Visited Ashville for a weekend to see the Biltmore Estate, but spent the evening before walking downtown checking out the local "establishments". Found some cool places, particularly Zambra, which several locals recommended.

We stopped there later in the evening for some tapas (instead of dinner). The band was a bit loud if you wanted to hold a conversation. But hey, we were there to have a good time.

The place was packed. But, we nabbed 2 seats at the bar and ordered a few tapas. The food was incredible! i would definitely recommended checkin git out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BayBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    237
    62
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I dined here on a recommendation from a friend. It was a wonderful restuarant. Low lighting quiet and romantic. Our waiter was extremley knowledgable. The menu changes nightly and offers unique fare. The tapas are inventive and delicious and the wine list is HUGE! We also had a few cocktails that were equally delicious. We definitley recommend Zambra

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
343 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great cozy tapas bar”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Came here w friends , loved allt he apps we ordered, very cozy and loved the decor, small bar was nice , waitress was wonderful, very flavorful food, will def be back to visit, highly reccomended,!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jank1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLYDE
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tapas in Asheville, fantastic wine list, incredible atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wonderful spot to go with friends...all meals are served in small, tapa-size portions and everything we tried was delicious! Innovative menu items ("grilled quail with country ham pate, blueberry & chorizo brioche, whole grain mustard", for example...very tasty!) and an informed and helpful waiter who provided lots of information about wines, with our encouragement. Atmosphere is dark but we found that quite comfortable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Zambra -”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Food was excellent and they make the best Manhattan! The selection of tapas was great. It was packed and service was excellent. Would definitely return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zambra also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Zambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing