We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Lunch Place”
Review of Grovewood Cafe - CLOSED

Grovewood Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Place”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Took Grayline tour from visitor center too Grove Park Inn. Stepped over to the cafe for a bite with wife and my parents. Quick seating and service. Excellent recommendations from wait staff. Only slightly pricy considering the location, but a delicious and timely lunch for 4 with drinks for under 70 bucks before tax and tip. Was able to get back on tour bus within 90 minutes to continue the route. If considering lunch at the Grove Park Inn, and want to save a little cash, well with the trip down the hill.

Helpful?
Thank DarkonIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    34
    15
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great space for an event!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had our wedding rehearsal dinner at the Grovewood Cafe and the experience was entirely positive.
Larry (the chef owner) was really easy going and cooperative, which is the main reason I chose the Grovewood. He and I went back and forth on the menu and always came to a mutually satisfactory food option.
They had a really nice two tier outdoor patio which made the experience special. Their indoor room is fine.
The main thing, of course, is the food and it was terrific. Imaginative and well prepared. And the prices were very reasonable. Other venues wanted to charge for all sorts of things-- like fees for someone to manage the event, for wait staff, for linens, etc. The Grovewood charged me a flat fee per person, plus tax and tip.
Everyone on the staff was just like Larry-- friendly and helpful.
I'd really have to struggle to find something negative to say-- okay, the lemonade was too sweet.
In sum, I couldn't recommend the place more highly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Had a Groupon”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a Groupon so that is the main reason we tried Grovewood Café, and that it was located next door to Grovewood Gallery where we had decided to stop and look around. We were the first patrons there and choose a table outside. It was very relaxing and enjoyable. We started out with the soup special, Seafood Chowder, it was really tasty! My husband ordered the Steak Sandwich, which was just ok, it came with shoestring potatoes that were soggy, not crispy. I ordered the Chicken BLT, it was delicious, with super crunchy homemade waffle fries, YUM!!! Service was fine, nothing special though. If you go don't miss the antique cars or the local art, both inside and out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Asheville”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They recognize us when we visit. Interesting variety of tasty foods, including bread basket at outset. Service was excellent. Took too long this trip as they had exceptionally large party to serve. 4 of us really enjoyed this place. Comfortable to talk. Eat first, then, take walking tour of Grove Park Inn, showing it off to visitors.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eat Here”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I don't know about the restaurants in the Grove Park Inn because we didn't stay there, but our Red Trolley tour guide recommended the Grovewood Cafe just across from the inn, and we loved it. Beautiful fresh vegetable plate, and the best seafood corn chowder I've had in a long time. Excellent service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jobethallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grovewood Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing