We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hidden gem”
Review of Grovewood Cafe - CLOSED

Grovewood Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice hidden gem”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Grovewood Cafe while we were staying at the Grove Park Inn. We would never have seen it if a driver for the trolley tour had not mentioned it to us.
We were seated right away as there were very few customers. Even at 6pm this concerned me. I wondered if the food was that good where is everyone. We were seated outside at a lovely shaded table and were attended to quickly. We dined on a cheese and fruit sampler tray while we waites on our entrees. It was fresh and very good. Our dinners were fabulous. I had the crabcakes...full of crab meat not fillers, very tender. My husband had the bbq ribs and pulled pork. He can be a bbq snob and said it was extremely good. We finished the meal with a slice of homemade key lime pie...the real thing...so tart and refreshing. It was an amazing meal. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stormsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    34
    15
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food at Grovewood”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This past weekend, a group of 15 adults and 3 children descended upon this wonderful cafe. We wanted a change from our stay/meals at the Grove Park Inn. Not only was the staff inviting and accomodating....they were so kind to tolerate our "lively" group. We were all very appreciative.
But...the greatest treat was how wonderful the food was at the restaurant. Every one of us were very pleased with our meals. That is saying something since all of us live in the "foodie" towns of Houston, Tx and Washington, DC.
People at the table raved about the Pulled Pork and Grilled Coleslaw, the Softshell Crab special, Grilled Chicken Breast and Crabcakes. The Fried Green Tomatoes were pretty tasty, but the House Salad wasn't anything special....very few tomatos and very little flavor. Otherwise....a great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great reprieve from the high prices and bad customer service of the Grove Park Inn next door. The waitress was friendly and the food was excellent and affordably priced. Great experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveler0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Food and Best Service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the time you walk in the door, get your food and pay the bill, the staff are there to serve you. They greet you as if they are really happy to see you. Prices are good and the Food was some of the best we had in Asheville. I had the vegetable plate and it was outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWB102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a lovely little restaurant and easy to overlook in the shadow of its neighbor. It is adjacent to, but separate from the ginormous Grove Park Inn. The chef and his wife have owned and run the place for 20 years and we had a delightful meal there.
The service was friendly, attentive, and informative. The food a real treat. The fresh Gazpacho was cool and flavorful and the seafood soup silky and chunky. My veggie entre was centered around a square of thick baked mac & cheese and accompanied by cole slaw, roasted beets, sautéed green beans, fried kale, and lightly breaded fried green tomatoes. My companion's trout was perfect with two veggie sides. The wine list was short, but plenty of good choices. Dessert offerings were varied and tempting, but we resisted as already had plenty of calories for the day. We had to leave something to look forward to for our next trip. We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Asheville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grovewood Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing