We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delicious surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grovewood Cafe - CLOSED

Grovewood Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a delicious surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Last weekend we stumbled upon the Grovewood Cafe near Grove Park Inn Resort. We had dinner on Saturday night and the food was delicious. The trout, scallops and pulled pork were all cooked to perfection. The ambiance was perfect reminding us of Hansel & Gretel's house with some beautiful wind sculptures lovely garden seating. All five girls decided this was just perfect so we booked Sunday brunch there as well. My husband is a Chef so I am very picky about where I dine. He actually joined us for brunch and sang the Grovewood's Chef kudos. Try the fried green tomato benedict...what a treat! It was our first visit but it won't be our last. The staff made us feel right at home.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chefnickbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    34
    15
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, atmosphere lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

The food was very good and the service was excellent. I thought the pricing was appropriate. The atmosphere needs to be updated. I sat on one chair and it went down so far that I had to switch chairs. I was told by way of explanation that the chairs are 18 years old, no apology.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Best food in the South! Hands down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Let's start with the food, words cannot describe how delicious this food is. We eat here every year over Mother's Day weekend. Last year we ate there 3 times in a 48 hour period. This year was no different. There is nothing on their menu that you will not thoroughly enjoy. I have recommended this restaurant to countless people and none have ever been disappointed. Now let's move onto the service, George the waiter is one of a kind. The best in his field if you will. He is humorous, courteous, attentive, and there is nothing you will want for because he is always one step ahead of you with the water pitcher or wine pouring. We love you George!

From your very dedicated patrons,

Allison, Bethany, Becky, Krista, Wendy Jo, Leigh, and Lee

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladylavpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best restaurant in Asheville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Simply wonderful. Outstanding food, very flavorful, every dish we tried was exceptional. Service was extremely attentive, waiter went above and beyond. Ribs wet perfect, local trout was a treat. We spent a week in Asheville and this was by far our favorite dining experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markjoellewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a ripoff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

This place needs an overhaul. While the food wasn't bad, it is just way overpriced. Average is the best word to describe this place. It should be so much more being next to the Grove Park Inn and inside a historic building. Why is it restaurants get lazy when they get by on their location? This place could and should be so much more.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grovewood Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing