We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, young atmosphere.”
Review of Bier Garden

Bier Garden
Ranked #130 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $11 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casual, young atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good food, good beer (a lot of it local), windows that are completely opened to the sidewalk during nice weather. Servers are always friendly and attentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rooniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    142
    65
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Beer bar”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is definitely a bar made for sampling beer; the food, not so much. The atmosphere was nice and comfortable (we just sat at the bar), and the service was excellent. The beer selection, as with most bars in Asheville, is extraordinary as far as draft selections go. The food was just so-so; I ordered the fish tacos, which was probably in retrospect not the best choice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic, Iowa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Good Food”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Bier Garden has a great selection of beers and very good food. The decor is very nice and they had very good wait staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Air conditioning in October”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped in here thinking we'd have more ambiance than was offered, with a name like Bier Garden the day before Octoberfest. We sat in the atrium area and the air conditioning was on when it was about 60 degrees outside, so we were uncomfortable for most of our meal. However, when we walked through the restaurant to the restrooms, it was toasty there. Strange that the temperatures were so dissimilar.
The food was good, and promptly served. Our server was friendly and efficient. The beer selection was extensive and I fell in love with a locally brewed pumpkin beer which was recommended by our server.
I think this is a great place for families with kids as there was a pretty extensive arcade area offered. (unusual in a 'bier garten')

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LangtoNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible bartender”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Love Asheville & the great bar scene; however, when recently attending the bier garden, we ran into JACKSON the bartender who provided very poor service. Would recommend the Thirsty Monk over this bar any day of the week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bier Garden also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bier Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing