We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Vincenzo's Asheville - CLOSED

Vincenzo's Asheville
Price range: $22 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: College
Description: For over twenty-two years, Vincenzo's has been an institution in Ashevile's vibrant, downtown restaurant scene. Providing award winning food and service, live local music nightly and both white tablecloth and Bistro style service has allowed us to survive and thrive. We hope you come and build a wonderful memory with us soon.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went here for dinner on our way home from SC. We stopped and spent the night in the area. The atmosphere was great, and the piano music was a nice touch. Our food was fantastic, but the service was really lacking. Had to ask multiple times for my drank, got up and got our own straws while the waitress was having a conversation with another employee behind the bar. I would go back, hopefully it was just an off night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MattW0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinpiano, Owner at Vincenzo's Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

While it's great to hear that the food was so fantastic, I'm sorry to hear that the service didn't match the level of excellence. Thank you for the feedback. We will be sure to discuss your comments among the team to ensure that we are growing in the right direction.

Dwight Butner, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Vincenzo's Asheville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 326 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved our experience at Vincenzo's. They got us seated immediately. Service was pretty good, especially considering peak time on a busy night. The pace of the meal and delivery of courses was perfect, the wine and beer selections were great, and dessert was on the house for our anniversary. Try the chicken lasagne, it is incredible! Afterward, we went down to the bistro, and the live musician there, who knows over 1000 songs, played a special request for our special evening. What a great dinner! We will be back next time we visit.

Thank J_A0062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinpiano, Owner at Vincenzo's Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

An anniversary is a truly special occasion for a couple, and we're proud to know that we could make yours just that much more wonderful. The only thing better than a free dessert is a song played and dedicated just for you, so it's great to hear that your night had such a terrific ending. We'd love to make it an annual event and see you again next year!

Dwight Butner, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Should have known whicjh way things were going when we were greeted by the hostess who had tatoos on her back. We had the worst service. The server was new. It was the restaurant's fault that she wasn't trained and supervised. Obviously, they couldn't care less. She said the osso boccu wasn't tender. We said osso bucco is braised. She had no idea what we meant. Then she said she got confused with another veal dish. She said there wasn't a lot of bread because someone didn't come in. She said my frutti de mare included pasta. It came without. So, I had her get some and she brought it out without sauce. The osso bucco came with a mound of an unknown green substance piled on top (new saw that before). We asked what it ws and she had to go back to the kitcehn to get an answer. The food was warm at best. The broth was weak and flavorless. There were small flies all around the table from the fresh flowers. We cut our losses and decided not to have coffee and dessert after already investing close to $100 in the meal. This restaurant had been recommended by our hotel, the Haywood Park. They tried to help us with a Sunday evening restaurant when many of them are closed. I wouldn't follow their recommendations. Terrible experience after an otherwise exceptional day at the Biltmore Estate. The only Italian food our server had previously experienced must have been at Pizza Hut. I felt bad for her because she was very sweet. But it was our night our and our money. Don't make the same mistake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TastyBake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinpiano, Owner at Vincenzo's Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

It sounds like we really missed the mark during your visit, and I'm very sorry to hear that. Flavorless food and poor service are not how we want to be remembered by our guests, and fall far short of our usual high standards for ourselves. It's truly disappointing that you didn't get to experience what our team is capable of. Tattoos on someone's back might not make a difference in the level of service, but we do expect our team to know the menu like the back of their hand. You can be sure that we will discuss your feedback with our team to ensure that slips like this don't happen again in the future. So thank you for your comments, they will certainly help us to grow in the future.

Dwight Butner, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We made a reservation for the upstairs, more formal room. But when we arrived, there was live piano music in the downstairs bistro. Since the food is the same in both locations, we opted for the live music and were glad we did. Steve Whiddon played music from several eras, sometimes also singing. The food was well presented and tasty - definitely a place to return to in the future. Note: this restaurant is listed on Open Table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinpiano, Owner at Vincenzo's Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Steve is an incredible performer, and his playing makes any evening a little more enjoyable. We're glad you could join us, Gene, and that you had such a fabulous time. Come see us again next time you'er in Asheville!

Dwight Butner, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I were in the mood for some good Italian food and we were not disappointed! Our server brought out bread with a delicious Parmesan and olive oil mix to start. I ordered the crab cake appetizer which was very good. We each ordered a smaller portion of our entrees-I ordered a spicy pasta dish while my husband the chicken Alfredo dish. Very good. We ordered tiramisu for dessert. The real gem here is the piano bar. We requested the pianist to play a romantic song and we danced for a few minutes. It was really just the cherry on top of a very nice meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinpiano, Owner at Vincenzo's Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Maggie, thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation! We're so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the experience and were able to have a truly romantic evening. Next time you two are hoping to escape, we'd love to have you back for another special dinner!

Dwight Butner, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vincenzo's Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing