We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant vegan food”
Review of Laughing Seed Cafe

Laughing Seed Cafe
Ranked #55 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Laughing Seed Cafe is Asheville's original downtown vegetarian restaurant. We've provided the finest organic, local, and farm-to-table vegetarian cuisine with an international flair for twenty years and counting.
Austin, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant vegan food”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hubby & I were thrilled with food, beverage, service & atmosphere. I couldn't decide on an entree so told the waiter what I liked in general & he ordered for me. A delightful Indian Thali Plate was delivered & devoured. Hubby ordered Omega Hempnut Burger with jalapeno fries. He liked it much better than beef burger! He can't wait to go back! WooooHoooo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    232
    65
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in Asheville- hands down most consistant!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here a dozen times. Food is outstanding! Local brew and great service. I have never had a meal that was not delicious. Tempeh and tofu prepared amazingly!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashd0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tico Taco Salad - arguably the best salad I've ever had. Source: regular meat eater.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food in a very cool location. A touch on the pricey side but well worth every dime paid. Wife and I split Tico Taco Salad and tempeh wrap. Both very good but salad possibly best I've ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jumpmaster26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“New Vegitarian”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant in Asheville. They make vegetarian interesting. I usually order from the menu of the day, but be warned: they often run out of popular items. Beer is local, food always the best and the sorbet and decaf top it off. Plus the restaurant is in the heart of the funkiest downtown in North Carolina. What's not to like?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skippy4159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, FL
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great veggie option for downtown.  Lots of Gluten free options”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The prices were average.  We tried the Temphe Rubin with Jalapeno onion fries (mostly fries with just a few small pieces of the jalapeño and onion).  It was a very tasty plate, but the sandwich was tiny (probably because if theGF bread).  I think they could have added another 1/2 sandwich and it would have been a normal portion. We also had the Spinach Pesto Manicotti with Zucchini. It was a raw dish and full of flavor...really yummy!!!! The kids has grilled cheese and sloppy joes and they were average. Worth a stop especially if you need a vegetarian or GF option!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmore2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Seed Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Laughing Seed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing