We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a nice meal, service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Laughing Seed Cafe

Laughing Seed Cafe
Ranked #51 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Laughing Seed Cafe is Asheville's original downtown vegetarian restaurant. We've provided the finest organic, local, and farm-to-table vegetarian cuisine with an international flair for twenty years and counting.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good place for a nice meal, service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We last visited the Laughing seed many years ago. Since we were in the neighbourhood, thought we would check it out again. Happened to be for Sunday brunch. Menu choices were not as varied as their regular menu. Food was good. Service left a bit to be desired. For vegetarians, Plant is definitely a superior choice but Laughing Seed location in downtown is a bit more convenient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Narasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    228
    64
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not just for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Wow. This was a treat for lunch, and it isn't just for vegetarians -- if you like fresh, carefully prepared, beautifully presented food, you'll like Laughing Seed. Everything about this place was great: a beautiful interior, thoroughly descriptive menu, and pleasant staff. The food was imaginative, with well-balanced tastes and textures. I had the Harmony Bowl and it was absolutely delicious. Each veggie in the mix was just right so they surely fixed them separately. Kale was tender, squash wasn't mushy, and the blend of veggies with nutty brown rice and black beans was great even before getting to the crispy well-seasoned tofu. Thumbs up for the sesame ginger sauce as the perfect topping.

The only quibble we had was with the hummus, which was fresh but a bit too bland. We wished we'd have been hungry enough for the Pakoras because they sure looked good, as did other plates we saw at neighboring tables. Sadly, I was only visiting in Asheville, or I'd be a regular at this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vegetarian Cuisine*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Located on 40 Wall Street, Downtown Asheville, there sits an amazing vegetarian restaurant with some Gluten-Free marvels as well. They have some great mushroom sliders with all local ingredients. They have delicious potato fries that accompany many of the meals. The cafe is quite the relaxing atmosphere equipped with a beautiful bar & a window into the kitchen so you can view the action! Our Server was also bartending and still achieved a great and quick service to our tabe and those around us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, fun atmosphere, can't wait to go again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Really great food. There were 5 of us and each of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We got the Indian Pakoras and loved them. The Reuben sandwich was the very best I have ever had. I would make a trip across the state just to get it again. My husband, the meat-eater, got the Tico Burrito and he was very impressed with it. We wanted to split the bill and our server did it without a second thought. She even split the price of the appetizer without us asking. I can't wait to go again.... I'm anxious to try the jalapeno onion fries and the Indian Thali plate!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgtg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great vegitarian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had an indian dish, that was excellent. All the other dishes were great too. My meat loving son wasn't quite as pleased.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Seed Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Laughing Seed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing