We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vegetarian Cuisine*”
Review of Laughing Seed Cafe

Laughing Seed Cafe
Ranked #43 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Laughing Seed Cafe is Asheville's original downtown vegetarian restaurant. We've provided the finest organic, local, and farm-to-table vegetarian cuisine with an international flair for twenty years and counting.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vegetarian Cuisine*”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Located on 40 Wall Street, Downtown Asheville, there sits an amazing vegetarian restaurant with some Gluten-Free marvels as well. They have some great mushroom sliders with all local ingredients. They have delicious potato fries that accompany many of the meals. The cafe is quite the relaxing atmosphere equipped with a beautiful bar & a window into the kitchen so you can view the action! Our Server was also bartending and still achieved a great and quick service to our tabe and those around us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    230
    64
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, fun atmosphere, can't wait to go again!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Really great food. There were 5 of us and each of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We got the Indian Pakoras and loved them. The Reuben sandwich was the very best I have ever had. I would make a trip across the state just to get it again. My husband, the meat-eater, got the Tico Burrito and he was very impressed with it. We wanted to split the bill and our server did it without a second thought. She even split the price of the appetizer without us asking. I can't wait to go again.... I'm anxious to try the jalapeno onion fries and the Indian Thali plate!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgtg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great vegitarian restaurant”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had an indian dish, that was excellent. All the other dishes were great too. My meat loving son wasn't quite as pleased.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“food witha\] a view”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We happened on this restaurant without any advanced information so we were pleasantly surprised at the reasonable fare and the good variety of choices.
Asheville was extremely vibrant this sunny warm evening. After viewing menus from several nearby establishments we chose Laughing Seed and were rewarded with good food at reasonable prices.
My pasta specialty was just what I needed after a long day driving. My wife's eggplant sandwich was also tasty and appealing. We would stop again on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RB27Nov2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“always superb”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My daughter and I love this restaurant. The food is so fresh and so well prepared. They have lots of gluten-free options, which is great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank not2old2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Seed Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Laughing Seed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing