We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tupelo Honey

Tupelo Honey
Ranked #30 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our Southern dishes and libations are served with a creative twist and a smile, and we serve our guests nothing that we wouldn't want on our own supper table. When we play with our food (and we think it's okay), the result is scrumptious. We're rooted in the Mountain South, and our menu is inspired by time-honored traditions: pickling and frying, canning and preserving, and utilizing seasonal produce and ingredients to prepare delicious, scratch-made creations.
Damariscotta, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice but Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hype led us to believe this was an outstanding restaurant in the middle of Asheville. Maybe it was us, but the food was only decent and the acoustics awful. Meh...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,842
    1,243
    408
    118
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big Biscuits!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our family recently enjoyed a weekday lunch at Tupelo Honey. It was packed, but we only had to wait about 15 minutes. The service was warm and accommodating. Everyone found their lunches delicious, particularly my husband and his fried chicken blt. The biscuits, giant and delivered hot to your table while you waited for your food, made finishing the generous portions challenging, but not impossible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth waiting in line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant was listed as the 15th best in Asheville and we believe it has lived up to its rating. Not a fancy place but the staff is efficient and friendly, the food is well prepared, portions are large (so come hungry), and the prices are reasonable. Lots of interesting dishes. I had the Zippy do da pork which was excellent. Had a little kick. My wife had a cup (bowl portion) of tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich (several options on the type of cheese). They also serve breakfast all day and offer a sweet potato pancake that was tempting. We sat up at the counter that over looks the cooking area. Fun place to sit with lots going on in front of you. Give the chefs a thumbs up as they apply their culinary skills. It will bring a smile to their faces.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFB897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the wait...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lunch was delicious....started with pimento cheese dip and chips, their to die for biscuits and jam. Veggie plate and goat cheese grits topped it all of. Server very knowledgable about local beers and breweries. Would recommend to anyone stopping in Asheville .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanwinmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good and friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading a review on Urban Spoon, we weren't sure about this place, but decided to give it shot. We were very pleased with the quality of food and service. The cafe is decorated well and the seating arrangements were ample. We had the BBQ eggrolls (comes with bbq dipping sauce and a jalepeno type dipping sauce), I asked for another (maple/mustard, or something like that) & all were good. We also had crab cakes with a side of fried green tomatoes. The crab cakes had a good amount of crab in them. Both were really good! Make sure you notice the cost of the crab cakes so you aren't shocked when you get the bill. Again, the food and service was very good! Glad we didn't listen to those that had bad experiences on Urban Spoon! We would definitely stop by on our way through again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing