We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tupelo Honey ....No Wonder People Swarm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tupelo Honey

Tupelo Honey
Ranked #29 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our Southern dishes and libations are served with a creative twist and a smile, and we serve our guests nothing that we wouldn't want on our own supper table. When we play with our food (and we think it's okay), the result is scrumptious. We're rooted in the Mountain South, and our menu is inspired by time-honored traditions: pickling and frying, canning and preserving, and utilizing seasonal produce and ingredients to prepare delicious, scratch-made creations.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tupelo Honey ....No Wonder People Swarm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were fortunate to arrive shortly after 9 on a Saturday morning and snagged a table because within minutes there was a 45 minute wait. Warm, LARGE biscuits were immediately served. Crab and spinach omelet and the goat cheese grits were standouts and I recommend sharing the sweet potato pancake for a breakfast dessert...I don't like sweet potatoes and loved it. The waiter was attentive and kept the coffee flowing...essential! Wish we had such breakfast fare in Myrtle Beach because I would be a regular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,840
    1,243
    408
    117
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch around 2:30, and had about a 30-minute wait to be seated. It was well worth it! The biscuits and jam were superb, and the house lemonade is a must. Everyone was thrilled with their meals, and the service was very fast once we were seated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KTgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A bit worried about the calories I would probably ingest at Tupelo Honey, I hastened there anyway. It was worth every calorie---and there are options such as wonderful kale and beet salad for weight watchers. This is a lovely casual and affordable spot with yummy food. I think it would be nice with children as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dowagerton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great lunch, fantastic and unique dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

my wife and i recently had lunch at the cafe. although we waited about 40 minutes it was worth it. the atmosphere is lively but not overly loud. the food choices are twists on traditional southern dishes. my wife said the fried okra was just like her grandma made in S.C. i had the toasted cheese sandwich which sound dull but was amazing.
all the dishes at the nearby tables looked great as well. plus they give you free southern biscuits with honey.
a must stop when you're in asheville

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
166 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food, warm place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The place is great, you can notice the fame from far away, there is always people coming and going. The service is quite good, the waiter was really good in explaining and recommending the menu. The best part, totally, where the biscuits, I would totally get back only for that. The rest of the food was good, a little heavy if you are not used to southern food, but still good. We went for lunch, but I think breakfast would have been better, I’m still curious about the sweet potato pancake, I guess I will need to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verofdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing