We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating breakfast in the sunshine”
Review of Tupelo Honey

Tupelo Honey
Ranked #30 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our Southern dishes and libations are served with a creative twist and a smile, and we serve our guests nothing that we wouldn't want on our own supper table. When we play with our food (and we think it's okay), the result is scrumptious. We're rooted in the Mountain South, and our menu is inspired by time-honored traditions: pickling and frying, canning and preserving, and utilizing seasonal produce and ingredients to prepare delicious, scratch-made creations.
Louisville,KY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eating breakfast in the sunshine”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food is heavenly, the staff is engaging and sitting out on the porch with the heater on so we could enjoy the sunshine was perfect! We had pumpkin pancakes and an omelet and goat cheese grits and warm biscuits with honey! Amazing and I don't like goat cheese!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Untraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,876
    1,259
    412
    122
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An institution for a reason”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I know that some think of Tupelo Honey as a tourist trap, but once again we had an excellent meal. The restaurant understands how to make great food, and they do so in a professional manner. Knowing how to satisfy people takes ability, and shouldn't be considered a negative. We had the shrimp & grits, the nut crusted fried chicken, and the sweet &sassy pulled pork. Everything was excellent, and we loved sitting at the counter watching the kitchen. Tupelo Honey will be a regular stop on our trips through the southeast.

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inventive New Southern”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Original menu. Food executed perfectly. Fun dining room with very professional service. We went for breakfast and had the best biscuits we have ever had.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank valenprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Will visit everytime I go to Asheville”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was in Asheville with a group of friends for a weekend and while in downtown we decided to stop at Tupelo Honey Cafe. We did not regret our decision. If you plan on coming here at any point in the day...you should expect to wait. It is worth it though. They do not take reservations so just know that. We were there for brunch and for what we got it was reasonably priced. It can get a little bit pricier but we didn't do anything really that was more than maybe $12. They bring you delicious biscuits with honey and jam to the table. You really could just eat this and be satisfied. However, we decided to order off the menu anyway. We ordered the benedict, chicken and biscuits, sweet potato pancakes and a couple other things. They were all delicious and very flling for the price point. My friend wanted a double stack of the pancakes and the waiter advised against...very wise decision. They were huge. The benedict was very good and plenty fulfilling. I remember saying to the group that I could find something to eat for every meal that were going to have in Asheville. There are so many good restaurants to go to that we did find others but I can't wait to come back. I also bought the cookbook and can't wait to try some of the recipes out. I highly recommend coming here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilone2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, NC
Level Contributor
333 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A MUST if in the Asheville area”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stopped at Tupelo Honey on the way home from Hickory, and we were not disappointed!! The food had great flavor and the price was on point. This is an absolute must if you are in the Asheville area.

Consider trying the pimento sandwhich with tomato basil soup.....it was beyond delicious!! My friend had the sweet potato fries and a chicken sandwhich, also an excellent choice. Oh, and don't forget the homemade bread and honey......yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachJTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing