We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed”

Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine
Ranked #27 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sweeten Creek Road
Description: Located in the heart of the Historic Biltmore Village district, Rezaz Modern Mediterranean Restaurant offers both high end dining and casual cafe styled service. Enjoy a glass of wine and some Middle Eastern snacks in the Wine Bar, or experience a five course tasting menu at the Chef's Table located right beside the "line" in the kitchen. Rezaz truly offers the complete spectrum.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Over priced, pretentious & quite clearly a chef who doesn't know his/her flavors. After telling the waiter my wife is a vegetarian the best he could offer was for the chef to make a medley plate of vegetables or have a salad & even with this suggestion he had no idea which vegetables would be in the dish. We were told they could not make falafel as it was a lunch only item. For the prices they charge you would think they would accommodate their customers, or maybe we just did not look ' high end' enough! We should have walked out at this point. My wife ended up ordering ravioli which consisted of 3 cardboard cut out raviolis with a drizzle of sauce. The disappointments continue, my child & I ordered 2 separate orders of paella. The chef is clearly not trained to make such a dish & thinks large amounts of garlic should be the prominent flavor in it. Bottom line, $100.00 later we left still hungry & annoyed. If you are expecting real food with proper seasoning, this is not the place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolphinfan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    260
    74
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!'”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

What a special treat near the Biltmore area in Asheville. We just popped in and ate at the bar area and was so surprised to find out that the food was amazing!! Some of the best we have had in a while. Make sure you stop by when your in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandythemandalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner for 4 with wine for less than $200”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rezaz is a place with style and panache, waiters who are knowledgeable and food that can't be beaten. We spent more than two hours at our table and didn't feel rushed. The waiter recommended a great wine to go with our meals. The specials were special and made it hard to make a quick decision. We split a salad four ways and then each had our own entrees. Wonderful in every way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayayasister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Rezaz. The food was fresh and the flavors were rich, complex, and most appealing. We had a falafel salad, scallops crab cake, roasted chicken, sautéed greens, and their version of pommes frites. To finish our excellent meal we had a superb raspberry sorbet, one of the best I have had in a long time. The warm welcome we received from the manager upon entering the restaurant and the excellent and friendly service provided by Ryan added to the positive experience. We will definitely return on our next trip to Asheville. Most highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RubyCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Locals know...”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Thsi restaurant was recommended so many times from people we were bumping into that we just had to try it for ourselves. We were not disappointed. Excellent service and fantastic dishes abound on their menu. We tried so many of them and liked them all. I started with the sweet pea gnocchi and then moved on to the shrimp and calamari and enjoyed the preparation very much of both as well as their taste. I finished with our server Elizabeth's suggestion to get the scallops. Excellent. My friends enjoyed their Paella as well. My suggestion is to listen to the locals and go to Rezaz you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank regent7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Rezaz Mediterranean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing