We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Knew?”

Downtown Asheville Art District
Ranked #18 of 186 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Association of fine art and craft galleries in downtown Asheville, NC
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Who Knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is my third time to visit Asheville, but I ignored downtown thinking it would be like any other. I was wrong. Be sure and save a few hours to meander up and down the streets of downtown Asheville.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LCLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    118
    32
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
258 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely Town in North Carolina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a lovely town to visit....so much history & culture. There were so many nice restaurants to choose from. I've been there a few times and always enjoy just walking around, looking in the various shops, enjoying the wonderful fresh air and the North Carolina friendliness and charm.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Cool but Very Crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The area has so many shops, restaurants, cafe's etc. but parking is a problem and so is general congestion with traffic in the downtown area. It's really charming, very alternative in flavor but I wasn't drawn back to the downtown area when we there because of the crowding. But you do want to go downtown!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarciaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reamstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Asheville NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Asheville NC is one very neat town with European flair. It has sidewalk cafes and musicians on the corner. Also, many interesting shops, a wonderful bookstore, and Woolworth Five & Dime Store converted to an art museum - but they still serve you at the counter with sundaes and shakes. Downtown they also have several antiques shops but I think the best antiques are outside of town. If you like French decor you will find a neat antique shop on Swannanoa River Road called Nostalgique Antiques & Interiors. I of course need to mention the Biltmore Estate which probably is the main attraction of Asheville but it good to also be aware that there is more to do in Asheville than to visit the Biltmore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ashville as it should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

great shops all within easy walking distances. The artisans are amazing. Had a hard time getting the wife to leave.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rustyspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Asheville Art District also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
North Carolina Mountains, NC
 

Been to Downtown Asheville Art District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing