We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for drinks”
Review of MG Road

MG Road
Ranked #352 of 792 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Wife and I stopped by for drinks on the way to somewhere else. Great drinks and chill atmosphere. Would have liked to try the food but she doesn't like Indian food, which comes from the adjacent Chai Pani.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AggieinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friday night chill”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I went there Friday night, Jan 31, 2014. We were in a group of 7. Service was excellent at this bar and continued to be great once we were seated in our comfy couch and chairs. It is dark in there but it creates the perfect atmosphere. It Seems like a great place for a date but maybe not a first date. The only negative thing about our experience was The hotty toddy My friend ordered. It was awful; it tasted like TheraFlu. Our group loved the music. Yes it was a little bit loud but not too loud it was just loud enough to actually hear it and enjoy it. We appreciated the older daft punk they were playing! We will definitely go back. We are locals FYI.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Original" should not mean "contrived" or over-executed.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Visited mid-January 2914 on recommendations from 'foodie' friends. Dark, lounge atmosphere, punk rock music loud, mostly tolerable. Waitress forgot napkins. Worst Mai Tai ever, ruined by 'innovative' additions that made it taste bitter. I'm from Hawaii, so I have more experience than most people with all 'dakine' Mai Tai's. Don't order it if you want a real Mai Tai. Cost: $9. Such a shame, as the two rums were expensive, but totally wasted due to the strange taste of the 'extras.'
Friend ordered a beef short rib with 'sides' and was shocked to be served a sandwich right out of a Subway photograph! He had expected a wok dish. He would never have ordered a sandwich for dinner. If only the waitress had told us what this 'exotic' dish actually was. The boneless, small beef rib on the sandwich was lukewarm but delicious, spoiled with the addition of finely sliced jalapenos! Hot peppers such as these ruin the delicacy of any dish. What was the chef thinking?
The beefsteak tartare was innovative to say the least. Nicely, exotically seasoned, bright red in color, it sat on a round, cold whey crepe which tasted like a creamy, cold buttermilk pancake. The meat should have been passed through the grinder twice, however. There was one rather large piece of chewy gristle which indicates to me that the correct choice cut for steak tartare was not used.
The dumplings, schrimp/tofu and something else I just can't remember, were, as expected, delicious. They were served in a large bowl with a very, very thick, spaghetti-like sauce of blood sausage, fish sauce and kim chee mixed it. Spicy and tasty, but spoiled with a very large piece of chewy sausage skin and hard pieces of something indiscernible, cabbage, perhaps, or dried-up veggie parts? And, whoa, too many sprigs of cilantro on top! It would have been great to have just paid for an order of dumplings.
So, for two people, three shared dishes, a Mai Tai and two beers, with a $10 tip, the cost was $60. Not bad, I guess, for a table in "Ashevegas."

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vienna1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great original drinks”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A really fun place to have drinks and get appetizer food, nice atmosphere as well. It is located right on Wall street.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pork belly tacos”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I went to MG Road before the ball game. It's a great place to start out or to end up. They have excellent apps and small plates. They have pork belly tacos that are one of my favorite things in Asheville. There's not a huge beer selection but they have some local beers on tap as well as many interesting mixed drinks and cocktails and they have a great atmosphere. It can get crowded as it's not very big so going early or really late is your best bet.

Helpful?
Thank takinitallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MG Road also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to MG Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing