We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd go back”
Review of Zia Taqueria

Zia Taqueria
Ranked #113 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Zia presents you with a collection of our favorite scratch made flavors from regional Mexico, Texas, & New Mexico. We have established a unique menu by using fresh, local, & regional ingredients and sourcing premium chiles from New Mexico. We utilize a fast-casual concept and view ourselves as partners with our customers, employees, community, and environment.
Abingdon VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“I'd go back”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I had a nice lunch here. My wife wasn't impressed. I don't know what that meant...but I liked it! I appreciated the the fresh unique flavors. The kids menu was fun for my daughters. I would like to return and just eat ala cart tacos and enjoy pre-show drinks before a show at the Orange peel some day soon. Spacious, clean dining area friendly-er than average Asheville service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alovingspoonful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    57
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Restaurant in Asheville”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

While it is a low bar, this is the best Mexican restaurant I've been to in Asheville. It is very Santa Fe, and, apparently, that is deliberate because the owner spent time in Santa Fe.

The cheese enchiladas were wonderful with a very New Mexican red sauce. A side of corn on the cob was fabulous, albeit a bit messy. The side of pinto beans with pork was quite wonderful, rather like a soup. The chicken quesadilla was also the best I've had in Asheville.

The only weak point was the slightly sweet salsa served with the chips.

I will definitely return and I highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garysanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
1 review
“Super Tasty!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stopped into zia to try the food out and really enjoyed myself!!
The grilled portobello mushroom nachos and ensalada were what I had. really good nachos, they are individual nachos so you actually feel like your eating a regular meal. Salad was fresh and generous with grilled corn and avocado. Will be back next time I'm in town!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“A-mazing”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

the food is delicious.. from the barbacoa nachos and tortas to the made in-house queso dip. full of flavor and originality. margaritas are made from scratch :) no complaints. attentive and friendly service and also in the neighborhood. 2 thumbs up! cant wait to drink outside!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kamuy2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great addition to the neighborhood!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything at Zia is incredibly fresh, from the margarita mix made in house to all the food. Spices and chilies flown in from Mexico make all the flavors really pop. Casual style counter service makes eating with a large group easy ( no tabs to split at the end ) but the service continues far past the counter. Full service is also available at the bar and high top tables if you're more into that. Highly suggest checking this place out. Try the tacos or the Barbacoa nachos!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackattack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Taqueria also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Zia Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing