We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magnolia Ray - CLOSED

Magnolia Ray
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A warm,casual space that has something for everyone-from burgers to a fine salmon-paired with local brews and distinctive wines.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

A classically trained chef let loose to create his own menu and voila - Magnolia Ray's restaurant. The first hamburger I've had in years without ketchup. It's that good.

Helpful?
Thank alfredricci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The flavors simply meld into deliciousness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Not your ordinary hamburger: Sautéed mushrooms & onions, fresh spinach, tasso ham, creole mustard, goat cheese. The flavors simply meld into deliciousness. The bun is perfectly sized to hold this creation that makes every bite an adventure.

Plus homemade sweet potato chips​ and Abita Amber.​

This is the good stuff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steveramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food, good folks, fair prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We live in Asheville so we have a chance to eat at a lot of the really good local spots. We really liked our meal last night at Magnolia Ray, a little gem of a place on Merrimon Avenue in North Asheville near the Woodfin town line. If you haven't been there I'd urge you to check it out. It's New Orleans style cooking with a little bit of Appalachia tossed in and it's mighty fine. There are always specials, often using locally-grown ingredients, a super etoufee (mine last night was shrimp) and reasonably priced but good quality wines. We've been there about 6 times when we just want something comfy and good without being too fancy and we've always enjoyed it. The owners also give back to the community, donating a portion of their proceeds to the Manna Food Bank. Plus the service is outstanding - our waitress last night was Shana, we've had her before, and she is just a delight. We'll be going back, that's for sure. You should try it too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBAshevilleNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was not happy with my food. Husband felt the same way. The salad was very blah with watery dressing (blue cheese? It could have been anything it was so flavorless), followed by what was supposed to be cornmeal crusted trout with sweet potato or pumpkin sauce and pumpkin seeds. $20. The fish was fresh. Otherwise it was awful. There was no crust. Maybe it started out with one, but lying there in a pool of juice (no "sauce" at all) it was just soggy. There were a few pumpkin seeds scattered around on the plate, but that was the only nod to the sauce as described on the menu. The sauteed vegetables on the side, carrots and mushrooms mainly, tasted like they came out of a can. My husband had a shrimp dish. He was equally nonplussed. He travels a lot and said he eats better on the airplane. Service was attentive. Decor is in a serious need of updating. We went to Ambrosia for dessert, as a sort of antidote to a bad experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Adorable place, great food, wonderful service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stopped here on our way into Asheville to meet my in laws for lunch. We had 3 kids, and 4 adults. The server was very sweet and knew her menu. She recommended a wrap for me, and it was heavenly!! Everything we all had was delicious. From the hummus at the start to even the kids meals! We were pleasantly surprised at how yummy the sweet potato chips were. I have to say I think my chicken wrap was the best at the table, but everything was really delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDMartin_325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Ray also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing