We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer, Knowledgeble”

Wicked Weed Brewing
Ranked #36 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Knowledgeble”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I love IPAs and I’ve never been to a microbrewery that had several IPAs on the menu. A local suggested the place to me. I was told to go during the afternoon because apparently it gets crazy busy in the evening. I had lunch with my beers, ordering a creamy kale soup and fried chicken sandwich. Both went well with my beer. The bartender was very friendly and introduced himself by name to everyone who walked up to the bar. He seemed passionate and knowledgeable about beer and Asheville in general.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,348
    772
    154
    43
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mediocre - Stick With The Brew”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Met friends for an early lunch recently and were very disappointed. The service was slow even though we were initially the only customers. The first two meals were served after a long wait. Yuck, cold french fres! The third meal, a salad, took another 10 minutes to arrive - and then, only after we flagged down a waiter to ask about it. The food was unremarkable and we wished we'd had just a beer here and then the meal somewhere else. In a city full of wonderful food, why bother with mediocre?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AHappyTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Emperor Has No Clothes”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This review is about the food, not the beer. Have only had lunch there. Black Bean Burger and Fries. The burger was rather small, and bland (topped with a bland pimento cheese spread, and crunchy yet tasteless fried ocra.) The fries were average, pom frites style, and served in a rather small silver cup. Could in no way justify the price (around $10.) Unfortunately, Asheville is getting a reputation as a "foodie" location, which allows some restaurants to overcharge for small quantities of mediocre food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic place”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

World class! Rick the owner and Jessica the bar tender made us feel very welcome! Awesome place. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAWorldwidetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great beers, cozy space”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The selection of craft beers was incredible. They had 14 on tap ranging from 5.5% ABV to 10.5% (!) We tried a flight of 6 and all were very good. There are 2 bar areas, we chose the smaller downstairs with views of the brewing tanks. It was quieter than upstairs, but the music could have been better. It was a generic blues loop like you hear on satellite radio. For Asheville, this was disappointing. We visited on a Monday and it was very busy, almost filled to capacity. I am sure it is crowded on weekends. We had already eaten, so we didn't sample any food. Overall great experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lemurgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicked Weed Brewing also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wicked Weed Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing