We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sogo Fusion - CLOSED

Sogo Fusion
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: You can always count on Sogo Fusion for consistently delicious food, excellent service, and affordable prices. By sourcing the freshest and highest quality of ingredients to create innovative dishes and modern interpretations of classic combos, our kitchen always has something unique to delight you and your family’s imagination every time you visit us.
Weaverville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Bought a Groupon to eat here but was not overly impressed. Atmosphere was nice and the waitress was good, but the food was only average. I was given a good portion of food, but it felt like the restaurant was trying to offer too much of a variety instead of trying to focus on one particular type of food. I had the Thai Basil/Ginger Chicken and my boyfriend had the Thai Curry Chicken. To me his was spicy, but he likes his really hot so he was not as pleased. It was okay, but I would not eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angeline1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

One of the worst meals ever. Don;t know when they last changed their oil for the tempura, but it;s way past due. Everything ( 3 plates) was greasy with a hint of rancidity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caeri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not our cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We hoped this would be a mixture of Chinese and Japanese food since the best Chinese restaurant in the area closed in recent months. This was a big disappointment. We ordered a sampling of beef, chicken and pork items from their menu to give an honest try but nothing was particularly good. Even their fried rice was not what we expected. We threw all leftovers away instead of saving as we usually do. They did have an appetizer steak, cheese roll that was tasty but that's it. We will not go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainview03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Creative and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Small funky place that serves Asian fusion with an artistic flair...how Asheville. Attentive wait staff. All of the hibachi grill choices are excellent. The rolls are where they shine. Very interesting combination of ingredients you might not expect. Plus you can just have plain old classical sushi. Try it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfHearts33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“General Tso's Chicken”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have had General Tso's Chicken at several restaurants and the version at this restaurant left me with an upset stomach. Each piece was exactly the same size and was composed of compressed chicken with a covering that was gummy.They deep fried the pieces and covered them with a sauce that was heavy with soy and salt.

I have been here many times and the quality of food has decreased with each visit. It is unfortunate because the previous owner had a top quality product.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sogo Fusion also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing