We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut

Chestnut
Ranked #12 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chestnut is an American restaurant. We are in a 1920s era building in downtown Asheville, right across for the Aloft hotel and the double decker coffee bus. Parking is plentiful (and cheap) at the public deck under the Aloft Hotel.
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

From the first taste of creamy lobster bisque we were pleasantly surprised with each dish that arrived at our table. The waiter was very attentive but not overly present. I would gladly visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy30549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,413
    418
    128
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional service and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We truly enjoyed the food. True to previous reviews the service was enjoyable and prompt, the servings large enough for two of us, and nothing disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Viki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Was underwhelmed by the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I really, really wanted to love this place. Based on flavors of the food alone, I would have. But we waited 25 minutes for drinks for dinner on Saturday night (and the place was not busy), almost 30 for the bread basket that we ordered (not complimentary, but neither here nor there), and then when the entrees came, they were actually lukewarm. So disappointed. I am sure that it was an off night for them, and the ambiance is great - but I feel we wasted our one and only 'date night' in Asheville without the kids.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FL_BabyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I'm an unabashed foodie. I've had a catering business and actively seek out wonderful dining experiences. This is fine food at its best: locally sourced, uniquely prepared and served with flair. I ate their twice during my three day stay in Asheville, but I will review the dinner here.

The Rhubarb Sour was the perfect cocktail to being my evening--tart enough to whet my appetite. My friend and I wanted a lighter meal and they do offer a good selection of small plates. I chose the Risotto Balls on Lobster Fricassee and it was outstanding. Crispy fried balls of risotto with cheese and a sumptuous lobster enriched with cream. My friend has the small plate,of tenderloin of beef, mashed potatoes and haricot vert? Again, perfectly prepared..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kleewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very nice, upscale restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent menu, 1/2 price wine on wednesdays and nice atmosphere. We walked in looking scruffy after a days wandering aroiund and they treated us very nicely.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing