We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice atmosphere, value, and service. Worth repeated visits!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut

Chestnut
Ranked #12 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chestnut is an American restaurant. We are in a 1920s era building in downtown Asheville, right across for the Aloft hotel and the double decker coffee bus. Parking is plentiful (and cheap) at the public deck under the Aloft Hotel.
WNC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere, value, and service. Worth repeated visits!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I had two dinners here within one week back in April: one family and the other business. Both sets of meals were very tasty and reasonably priced. Our servers were very friendly and knew the menu well.

The only (and honestly very picky) complaint is that there wasn't a single thing that took our breath away, but it was overall a very nice restaurant that left us with great dinners. Well worth returning in the future!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTNSeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,413
    418
    128
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food is great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The food was great here! Really enjoyed our appetizer, entree and dessert! But was surprised that the waitor was just okay for such amazing food. He wasn't rude or horrible but seemed to have too many tables then he could handle.just not what you would expect for that kind of place and food.

Helpful?
Thank Dnllfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMB
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Southern Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Was in Asheville for a wedding and it was a great place for Sunday brunch. The benedict was to die for as was the brisket hash.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
1 review
“A Special Place in Asheville.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A group of us get together once a month to try new restaurants for lunch in Asheville. Chestnuts is now one of our favorites! Fantastic atmosphere, location and a over the the top menu. I had the Portabella Sandwich....outstanding! The sweet potato salad.. perfect compliment. I will surely be back.
Tracy

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique offerings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

One con to start, the hostess forgot we were waiting at the bar for a table but my date and I really didn't mind because we enjoyed our conversation over a nice glass of wine. Waiter was very informed, attentive and funny. Food was unique combination of flavors and there is no point in telling what we ate because the menu changes often, so even if you eat there this month, you may have new offerings to enjoy next month. Btw, if you ever save room for dessert, try one. Some take 20 minutes, so let the waiter know in advance if you are pressed for time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chelldeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing