We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant.”
Review of Chestnut

Chestnut
Ranked #13 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Chestnut is an American restaurant. We are in a 1920s era building in downtown Asheville, right across for the Aloft hotel and the double decker coffee bus. Parking is plentiful (and cheap) at the public deck under the Aloft Hotel.
Concord, NC
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

They take reservations and we didn't have one so we sat at the bar. Andrea provided excellent service. We ordered two medium plates and a bottle of Rioga malbec. The filet was absolutely perfectly grilled and perfectly seasoned. The smoked salmon was good as well. We would definitely go back, perhaps for an larger entree next time. First class restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,527
    456
    137
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
1 review
“Chestnut in Downtown Asheville”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Beautiful town in the North Carolina mountains, one of my business associates from Asheville gave me a list of 4 restaurants to try, the first one on the list was right across the street from my hotel!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Service and warm Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We knew we wanted a nice dessert and a few drinks. Also, we wanted something the kids would enjoy too. Well, their homemade ice cream is a must. They had a hazelnut ice cream that reminded me of velvety gelato. The drinks were great. We didn't know this, but Wednesdays are 1/2 price bottles of wine. PERFECT!!! A couple beers and a bottle of wine to take home. The service was great and we walked in during a shift change. Totally accommodating. Also, if they have it on the menu, get the chocolate souffle. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great addition to Downtown restaurants”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It's run by the same people who started Corner Kitchen restaurant which I love and is one of the best breakfasts in WNC. I was actually expecting to be disappointed by Chestnut, but they were really good.

I had a cedar-something something salmon and the lobster bisque. Both were delicious and fit the price. Very relaxed vibe inside. Downtown has A LOT of great restaurants. Chestnut is now on that list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RiggsnMurtaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Lunch was lovely!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was my first visit to Chestnut and what a wonderful experience it was! The ginger sweet potato soup was delicious! And the Reuben was stacked with lean corned beef. Our waiter was so attentive even though he had to work several tables. And let's not forget the atmosphere! I will definitely go back when visiting Asheville!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing