We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Wedge Brewing Company
Ranked #40 of 188 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Established in 2008, the Wedge is a neighborhood brewery with two locations in the heart of Asheville’s River Arts District. The Wedge serves as a gathering place for people of all ages and walks of life to laugh, exchange ideas and drink Wedge beer. The Wedge is a community crafted by the people of Asheville.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a bit of a disappointment. If you like sitting in a gravel lot on a metal seat, with no shade, you will LOVE this place. There was really nothing to look at except the railroad tracks. If it was cleaned up and some seating added, this place may have potential. The entrance is around back and not clearly marked.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SUN___FUN098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best in Asheville!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Wedge is an awesome brewery and I visit them every time that I am in town. There is no television which is a plus and they serve free roasted peanuts - an added bonus! :-) Do yourself a favor and hit this brewery up!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinglarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beer Knurd's Nirvana”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We finished every evening here. It is located in a really great old warehouse, and it is surrounded by artist's studios. Great patio. Good beer. Free peanuts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cwdsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
259 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A really funky place to have a great craft beer”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am glad we stopped in and talked to the folks at a local bike shop (Beer City Bikes). We were told how to find this place and what to expect.

We visited on a sunny spring afternoon. Many people were hanging out and having a pint. They bought rogs, mototrcycles, children, and friends. All seemed to be just having a great time. This is the most unique drinking establishment that I have ever been to. Such a cool vibe, very grungy, neat metalwork art made from engine parts and gears, and pretty much all outdoors. One of the best Saison beers that I have had. Inexpensive pints to boot. There was a food truck out back.

This place is for down-to-earth people who can deal with a little bit of character in a location. This place has lots to give. If you are feeling trendy, they even have an express window for all the IPA drinkers, LOL...

BTW, the Wedge probably is not for you if you are staying at the Inn at the Biltmore, just finished your Range Rover Experience, and picked up your mistress who was shopping at the Village with your Amex Black card.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iliketrdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We took a day to hit the breweries Wedge was on the list. It was eclectic,the price was good but neither of us cared for the beer. I don't see the need to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Haup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wedge Brewing Company also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wedge Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing