We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, fun place!”

Highland Brewing Company
Ranked #28 of 191 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Highland Brewing Company has crafted the highest quality beer with North Carolina mountain water since 1994. Family-owned and Asheville’s first legal brewery since Prohibition, it is a favorite destination for beer fans, music fans, and families. From the balanced, food-pairing favorite Gaelic Ale, to the tad aggressive, fruit and pine hop-burst of Highland IPA, the portfolio always showcases quality. Highland’s name honors the Scots Irish who settled in the Appalachian Mountains in the 18th and 19th centuries. To learn more about the nationally recognized solar array, tours, private events, free live music and more, visit the brewery for a pint or a tour!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beer, fun place!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Delicious beer and a very friendly staff. Took the brew tour which was kind of short, but very informative. Have a flight and try all of their beer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotteangirl, Marketing Assistant at Highland Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for visiting with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    57
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun place for an outdoor concert”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a blast watching a band on the nice large lawn. The beer was great and so was the service. I would check their website often to see what events they have coming up. A fun place to hang out with friends. I was surprised at the number of small children running around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fromoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotteangirl, at Highland Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We take great pride in our outdoor space so thanks for letting us know how much you liked it! It's a great place for events, hanging out with friends or the whole family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beer is good !”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great place to hang out with friends, enjoy an informative tour and sample beer. Though no other events were happening at the brewery, they do have a stage and plenty of space for other events.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotteangirl, Marketing Assistant at Highland Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
And we always have live music on the weekends! Thanks for stopping by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great happy hour venue!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Highland Brewing Company is a great place to go for happy hour -- great music, great beer. Fun place to go with friends or family. Love the airy tasting room and wonderful outdoor facilities as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotteangirl, Marketing Assistant at Highland Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We have the perfects hours for a good, after-work drink and we're glad you're taking us up on it. Thanks for coming by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great place & the here's not so bad either!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

As soon as we walked in the door, we knew we'd stumbled on a cool spot! Highland has a HUGE tasting room where they do lots of events. Tours are free and our guide was very knowledgeable and just a pleasure to be around. If you aren't familiar with Highland's beers order a flight where you can sample several at once!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotteangirl, Marketing Assistant at Highland Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
That's the kind of thing we love to hear! Thanks so much for coming in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Brewing Company also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Highland Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing