We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off by the chintz”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of chelsea's cafe and tea room - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
chelsea's cafe and tea room
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the chintz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We tried to get into the Corner Kitchen, twice, but it was always mobbed. This place looks like little old lady heaven, a tea room for pete's sake, but we loved it both for lunch and brunch. Great shrimp salad, sweet potato pancakes, egg and bacon sandwiches, and pastries to die for. And they serve tea in this elegant old fashioned tea pot -- lots of different varieties.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corgipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Upper class all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stylish with a unique take on classic dishes. Nestled in the Biltmore Village, this is the place your Mom would take your daughter and they both would love it. Complete with a dog friendly courtyards, the "tea room" is exactly what you would imagine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great experience in Biltmore Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful food and a fun, casual atmosphere. The patio is more fun for us, so you can watch people shopping in the boutiques along the street there. The interior is a little too much on the "Tea Room" side of things, but not over the top.Service is impeccable and anything you order will be fresh, tasty and fairly priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“So nice we went twice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch at Chelsea's on Saturday. We ate inside and I felt like I was at a tea room in the Cotswolds. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. It was so good that we went back for brunch on Sunday. We ate outside and it was lovely. Again the food was delicious and the service was excellent. After both meals we stopped in the gift shop. When we return to Asheville we will surely return to Chelsea's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherryames1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I joined a friend for lunch during the week. We enjoyed our visit: The food is great, the atmosphere cute, service good. I will return to this restaurant for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melkope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed chelsea's cafe and tea room also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing