We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vue 1913

Vue 1913
Reserve with OpenTable
Vue 1913 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Charlotte Street
Description: Vue 1913, An American Brasserie, offers guests a comfortable and stylish setting for a leisurely meal designed only with the love of food in mind. With its art deco decor and panoramic view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Vue 1913 is the perfect fit for your everyday dinner plans and your special occasions. Our chef's blend of American and French cooking is highlighted by a marvelous selection of wine from an abundant French cellar cultivated over the years.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Amazing restaurant and incredible service. Just the right amount of attentiveness without being overbearing. That is hard to find in some restaurants, but our waitress was phenomenal. The food was incredible. My husband and I both had the filet and it was cooked to perfection. I only wish I lived closer so I could go every weekend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    63
    32
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrific dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We blew the diet off and decided to enjoy some fine dining, and we certainly were not disappointed. My wife had scallops (largest I've ever seen) and I did the chef's "tasting" selection. Everything was awesome, from the view over the mountains to the cordial, prompt service (servers are "mature") to the superb courses to even the after-dinner coffee. Well worth the experience if you choose to stay on-site for a special dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dtravOKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Sigh- not worth the weight or the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We waited quite awhile to eat here and it was nothing special. The 42.00 filet was tiny and over cooked. The chicken was dry. The servers were nice-they have been trained well- but it was so-so. Nothing stood out-im sorry but it was expensive blah.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beenaroundtheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at Vue 1913, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Please accept our deepest apologies for not delivering the 5 star experience for you that we are known for. We appreciate you providing feedback about your experience and will take every word to heart. We hope you will consider giving us another chance next time you have the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great buffet with wonderful views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

While a little expensive for breakfast, the food was wonderful, waiters & waitresses were very friendly, and the views were wonderful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolores N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a great resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Horizons is the fine dining room of the Grove Park Inn (GPI). We enjoyed dinner with 7 guests on the same evening as the 100th Birthday FireWorks - a nice touch! Despite our OpenTable reservations we were seated in an un-table clothed table that needed wedges to keep the tables from rocking in the bar area. The wait staff was wonderful, however; and the selections were delicious. I enjoyed a delightful creamy onion soup and the lamb special. Others had equally good appetizers and entrees. We passed on desserts, however. This is a pricey restaurant but the culinary delights are excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at Vue 1913, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for dining with us during our Centennial Celebration and providing feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed the food and service you received. We hope you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue 1913 also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Vue 1913? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing