We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sigh- not worth the weight or the price”
Review of Vue 1913

Vue 1913
Reserve with OpenTable
Vue 1913 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Charlotte Street
Description: Vue 1913, An American Brasserie, offers guests a comfortable and stylish setting for a leisurely meal designed only with the love of food in mind. With its art deco decor and panoramic view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Vue 1913 is the perfect fit for your everyday dinner plans and your special occasions. Our chef's blend of American and French cooking is highlighted by a marvelous selection of wine from an abundant French cellar cultivated over the years.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Sigh- not worth the weight or the price”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We waited quite awhile to eat here and it was nothing special. The 42.00 filet was tiny and over cooked. The chicken was dry. The servers were nice-they have been trained well- but it was so-so. Nothing stood out-im sorry but it was expensive blah.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beenaroundtheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at Vue 1913, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Please accept our deepest apologies for not delivering the 5 star experience for you that we are known for. We appreciate you providing feedback about your experience and will take every word to heart. We hope you will consider giving us another chance next time you have the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    64
    32
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great buffet with wonderful views!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While a little expensive for breakfast, the food was wonderful, waiters & waitresses were very friendly, and the views were wonderful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolores N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a great resort”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Horizons is the fine dining room of the Grove Park Inn (GPI). We enjoyed dinner with 7 guests on the same evening as the 100th Birthday FireWorks - a nice touch! Despite our OpenTable reservations we were seated in an un-table clothed table that needed wedges to keep the tables from rocking in the bar area. The wait staff was wonderful, however; and the selections were delicious. I enjoyed a delightful creamy onion soup and the lamb special. Others had equally good appetizers and entrees. We passed on desserts, however. This is a pricey restaurant but the culinary delights are excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at Vue 1913, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for dining with us during our Centennial Celebration and providing feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed the food and service you received. We hope you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful View.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We ate dinner here after finally getting checked in. We had a reservation and when we arrived we wanted to sit at one of the tables along the ledge. There were 3 available at 7PM. The hostess said that there were reserved for VIP. Ok, so you don't know me but assume i am not VIP? That was very bad on her part and a reflection of bad training. You just don't say that!!! Tell me that they have been previously reserved and I am fine with that. I dine all over the world. I know how it works. I told her to just seat me anywhere but if one of those tables is still empty in an hour I would be pissed. The manager came over and moved us to one of the "VIP" tables and the one of the three remained empty our entire visit. Apparently awaiting the VIP :-) The food is excellent and the service is very good. The view is spectacular. Wine list was not that impressive and steaks for 2 and a round of drinks with a side was under $200. Best for couples.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at Vue 1913, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and providing feedback. We are sorry for the sub par service you received and have forwarded this on the appropriate management. All of our guests are VIP there is no excuse for you not receiving that treatment. We work hard to continuously improve our offerings and hope you will come back and see our ongoing growth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had high expectations and were greatly disappointed
Service was fantastic, but the food was normal and over priced

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at Vue 1913, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and providing feedback on your experience. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and will continue to improve our cuisine and service. We hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue 1913 also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Vue 1913? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing