We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic French Food”
Review of Creperie Bouchon

Creperie Bouchon
Ranked #127 of 780 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weaverville, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic French Food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is an excellent restaurant, with authentic French meals. They have fabulous crepes and other choices. There is outdoor and indoor (not on the street) seating. There is a very good wine list. They feature draft beers made locally as well as a French beer favorite of mine 1664 (on draft too!).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    59
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't trust for Celiac Gluten Free”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The outdoor seating is quaint, the menu is interesting, promises were made about gluten free crepes made on non-contaminated griddles and that was the end of that. Two of three tables that seated after us were served first. Okay... Ready to order and asked about GF crepes. Turns out they could not verify if any of the stuffing ingredients were GF safe - which of course negates any usefulness to a medically necessitated gluten free diet. The kitchen is tiny and they prepare lots of sandwiches so too much gluten in the kitchen to feel that this is safe for someone with celiac. Otherwise, my non-GF salad had some slimy lettuce in it. This was our only lunch in Asheville so I'm afraid I do not have a vetted place to suggest - and beware as everyone glibly offers gluten free but RARE is the staff that could answer any questions about food prep, etc. Make a point to visit Posana Cafe and Cafe 64, however!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Family4Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice treat”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you are looking for a nice beak from the pace Creperie Bouchon is a nice treat. Up through a small staircase opening on to a secluded garden area we were already please with our choice. The food is very good and the staff was fun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSequoiaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
167 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Like being in Paris !”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife says it's like being back in Paris! We have been here many times and only on the last visit did I remember that I had not reviewed this fabulous hidden gem in downtown Asheville. The place has indoor as well as outdoor seating, but we prefer the outdoor seating. You come in off Lexington Ave., up narrow alley walkway, and it opens to a lovely patio area. The food is out of this world. The sandwiches, crepes and desserts are incredible! One of our favorite places for lunch or dinner! A must see on your visit to Asheville.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BadNews1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, delicious food”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Even if the food was lousy the location and atmosphere of Creperie Bouchon is worth the visit. We could have stayed for hours, sampling cocktails in the quiet, hidden courtyard tucked between Lexington Avenue and Carolina Lane. But the food was not lousy – it was delicious. My wife and I ordered four items for the table and crossed forks. The watermelon gazpacho (soup of the day) was outstanding. If I lived in Asheville I would buy it by the quart whenever it was on the menu. The two crepes – Canard and the Mont Michel (one of the day's specials) - were full of well-balanced flavors. The crepes were light and tender, some of the best I have had. The fillings were perfectly balanced: duck sausage, goat cheese, pears and caramelized onions on one; lamb sausage, mushrooms, pickled onions and cheese on the other. Both were accompanied with an arugula salad and not-too-much vinaigrette. The Toasted Cochon sandwich is excellent; the baguette was as good as the fillings. The fries were perfect - crisp and well-seasoned. I hesitate to order fries in restaurants as they are all too often limp from too much time under a heat lamp. Our server, Shannon, was prompt, attentive and affable. This is our new go-to spot for lunch (and dinner and drinks) on our occasional visits to Asheville. Next time I'll be sure to save room for dessert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fred_garvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creperie Bouchon also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Creperie Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing