We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but Grandma's...Seriously?”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #244 of 792 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, but Grandma's...Seriously?”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went in for two vegetable plates, since it was an afternoon work day for the wife. We usually get a new server each time we visit there, since their stay is often a short one, but that's another story.
Our food was served quickly and it wasn't cold, but the portions were anything but generous. The usual 4 oz. servings were replaced by a portion that was even smaller. I pointed out the shortfall of food to our server and she brought me another serving to the table. She cleared up my irritation by telling me that there was a new cook in the kitchen, that was in training.
I like this location better for the most part, than I do the Crowell Road location. They get too much interstate traffic there, so the wait is often a long one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, confused wait staff”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Once the wait staff decided who was actually going to cover our table, food and service were great!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“"OLD SCHOOL" Quality”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

When you enter you are greeted with a sincere good morning!Welcomed into the dining room,quickly served water,& coffee or tea.Our order was placed & the time it took to get it,we knew it was made FRESH!!!!! just for us.service very attentive but not pushy.Top quality ingredients,well prepared & served hot & fresh!!!!!
a BIG A++++++++++++ all around
mike

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost as good as granny's home-cooking !”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I had the chicken & dumpling platter w/ turnip greens ,fried okra & lima beans, cornbread muffins ! Love their food as close to Granny's cooking in Asheville ! Friendly usually fast waitstaff depending on the crowd !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigcheesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, null, United States
1 review
“Great family place”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Service was the best, food was very good, & prices are very good. Loved it. Food was prepared at a very reasonable time & the waiters/waitresses were very nice. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Devin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing