We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”

Southern Highland Craft Guild Folk Art Center
Ranked #10 of 191 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traditional and contemporary Southern Appalachian crafts, including century-old pieces, are displayed in this folk art center, which also houses the first craft shop in the U.S.
Helena, MT
Level 6 Contributor
975 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a leisurely trip down the Blue Ridge we pulled into this place. Wow! They call these crafts but they verge on fine art. Twice I bought all my Xmas presents here, plus a few others. Supporting the locals. It sure beats buying a rubber tomahawk as a souvenir.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    242
    64
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto Bay, FL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't drive by”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Be sure to make time to visit the Folk Art Center on the Blue Ridge Parkway out of Asheville. It's a great place to see beautiful art and crafts from the local area. Everythingis here: pottery, quilts, oil paintings, tapestry, woodwork, glassware, jewelry, clothing, you name it. I was only limited by space in my luggage and money of course, or I would have bought half the place out. I ended up with a couple of handcrafted Christmas ornaments, some kitchen items, and a chachki. Great place for early holiday shopping. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Washington MD
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not your average shop”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is no tourist trap shop. The items for sale are truly pieces of original art. Even if you are not into shopping a visit to this center is worth your time. Some items were breath taking. Do not expect to find inexpensive souvenir type items but quality hand crafted one of a kind items. A walk thru this shop is a visit to a museum of Southern crafts. Everything from quilts to pottery to metal work is available to admire or buy if you wish. There is no pressure to buy and the staff is very helpful. This a not to be missed stop on the Blue Ridge.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Every time I visit Asheville I have to stop at the Folk Art Center, it's educational and fun! Learning about crafts and how the artisans make their work is fascinating. Even if you don't end up buying anything, it is still a neat place to visit. Cozy and with beautiful works of art to look at. It's hard not to visit Asheville without taking in the arts and crafts. The grounds are wonderful, especially the pine trees near the front entrance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank amonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A Must Visit (even if you don't buy anything)”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent some very pleasant hours just walking around and seeing all the different kinds of crafts. There was a man demonstrating wood crafting from bowls to wine stoppers etc.. The museum upstairs was fantastic and the quilts WOW. I love baskets and there were plenty of those too. Don't miss this if your in the area, even if you don't purchase anything(like I didn't).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James and Sandr... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Highland Craft Guild Folk Art Center also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Southern Highland Craft Guild Folk Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing