We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit (even if you don't buy anything)”

Southern Highland Craft Guild Folk Art Center
Ranked #10 of 186 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traditional and contemporary Southern Appalachian crafts, including century-old pieces, are displayed in this folk art center, which also houses the first craft shop in the U.S.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Must Visit (even if you don't buy anything)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent some very pleasant hours just walking around and seeing all the different kinds of crafts. There was a man demonstrating wood crafting from bowls to wine stoppers etc.. The museum upstairs was fantastic and the quilts WOW. I love baskets and there were plenty of those too. Don't miss this if your in the area, even if you don't purchase anything(like I didn't).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James and Sandr... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    229
    59
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to shop, walk and enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Do make this a stop in any Asheville visit. The area is filled with wonderful craft folks and many of their works are on display here. You might also want to take a stroll around the grounds to breathe in the Blue Ridge.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yoga2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best handcraft place I've seen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped there after being on the blue ridge parkway. Loved the education on the parkway. The lady inside was tatting. I have tatting pieces my family has made but haven't seen it done. She showed me and I done a couple of stitches. There was also a man working an electric lathe. Many quilts, wonderful art. Everything was really great here. We spent a long time looking. I really enjoyed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The quality of craft offerings here is always excellent. They usually have one or two artists demonstrating and showing their art in the main lobby area when you enter the building. This week they had a wood artist (fabulous wooden bowls and other wooden items) and a maker of very nice brooms. The exhibits on the second level are always worth seeing. Well worth the stop!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncnativeazalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We never get tired of going here. The artwork is amazingly beautiful. It is the best place to go to find gifts because you can be assured that they are of the finest quality. The special days they have showcasing various artists and types of crafts are wonderfully interesting and educational.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gypsyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Highland Craft Guild Folk Art Center also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Southern Highland Craft Guild Folk Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing